Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Never a Hero : Only a Monster : Book 2 - Vanessa Len

Never a Hero

Only a Monster : Book 2

By: Vanessa Len

Paperback | 29 August 2023

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Never a Hero is the brilliant sequel to the bestselling Only a Monster - where the line between monster and hero is razor thin. Hidden worlds dwell in the shadows, monsters with untold powers walk among humans, and secrets are the most powerful weapon of all.

Despite the odds, Joan achieved the impossible. She reset the timeline, saved her family - and destroyed the hero, Nick.

But her success has come at a terrible cost.

She alone remembers what happened. Now, Aaron, her hard-won friend - and maybe more - is an enemy, trying to kill her. And Nick, the boy she loved, is a stranger who doesn't even know her name. Only Joan remembers that a greater and more dangerous enemy is still out there.

When a deadly attack forces Joan back into the monster world, she finds herself on the run with Nick - as Aaron closes in. Torn between love and family and monstrous choices, Joan must find a way to re-gather her old allies to face down the deadliest of enemies, and to save the timeline itself.

Vanessa Len's stunning Only a Monster trilogy continues with this second instalment, a thrilling journey where a secret past threatens to unravel everyone's future.

Praise For Only a Monster

'Vanessa Len's Only a Monster is captivating and unique.' - Lynette Noni

'An absolute page-turner. Only a Monster paints another vivid world inside the one we know, and uses a deft hand to bring it utterly alive.'- Chloe Gong

'Put down everything and read it!' - CS Pacat

'The writing and the premise are delightful, as are the monsters.' - Holly Black

About the Author

Vanessa Len is a bestselling Australian author and educational editor, who has worked on everything from language learning programs to STEM resources, to professional learning for teachers. She is also the author of Only a Monster, and you can find her via her website at https://www.vanessalen.com.
Industry Reviews

PRAISE FOR BOOK 1
'Vanessa Len's Only a Monster is captivating and unique and - dare I say it - utterly monstrous (in the best possible way). This engrossing debut will have YA readers longing to steal time just so they can devour the pages over and over again!' - Lynette Noni

'An absolute page-turner. Only a Monster paints another vivid world inside the one we know, and uses a deft hand to bring it utterly alive. Vanessa Len blurs the age-old lines between good or evil, hero or monster, in the most captivating way.'- Chloe Gong, author of THESE VIOLENT DELIGHTS

'I thought I knew roughly what to expect. I was wrong. Len's story and characters never went where I anticipated, and when things did take more familiar roads, the path was filled with so many zigzags and back-turns that the familiar became unexpected and thrilling. It shocked me and broke my heart. Intensely satisfying.' - The Saturday Paper

'One of the most powerful debuts of the year. This awesome young adult fantasy book is incredibly addictive, and you will fall in love with its epic story and its morally grey characters. An exceptional read!' - The Canberra Weekly

'Len is an accomplished storyteller. Her plotting is rich and suspenseful with foreshadowing, twists and turns, and pacing that builds through enthralling set pieces to an unforeseen and astounding high-stakes climax.' - The Weekend Australian

'Only a Monster is a pacey, dark, compelling read. It's YA at its very best. I can't wait for the next book.' - The AU Review

'Monstrous fun; time-travelling, high-stakes enjoyment. A breakout author worth keeping your eye on.' - The Chronicle

'This read isn't like your regular YA fantasy romance books. The explosive ending will have you staring at the ceiling for days.' - Pedestrian

'An intriguing urban fantasy that is sure to appeal to fans of Sarah J Maas and Cassandra Clare. The world-building is impressive and will immerse the reader in a world of monsters. No doubt readers will be eagerly awaiting further additions to this proposed trilogy.' - Books & Publishing

'Mind-bending, heart-wrenching, and unputdownable! Don't feel bad if this book tricks you into rooting for the monster instead of the hero. Vanessa Len has written a masterful debut novel-I loved the time-travel, the star crossed romance, and the monsters.' - Stephanie Garber, author of the CARAVAL series

'With a pace that will leave you breathless, Only a Monster introduces a captivating new voice in fantasy with a dynamic story that blurs the lines between hero and monster.' - Hafsah Faizal NYT bestselling author of WE HUNT THE FLAME + A TEMPEST OF TEA

'Only A Monster is a wonderfully clever and intriguing take on the classic tale of hero versus monster. Vanessa Len has crafted a rich and immersive world filled with unique magic, thrilling action, and a heart-wrenching star-crossed romance. A marvellous and twisty debut that will pull you in right from the start!' - June CL Tan, author of JADE FIRE GOLD

'Darkly delicious fun. If you've been looking for your newest YA urban fantasy obsession - you've found it' Natasha Ngan, NYT bestselling author of GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE

'A fabulous start to a phenomenal new series that reminded me of why I first fell in love with YA. Fast-paced and full of clever, monstrous characters you can't help but root for, Only A Monster is a book that should be on everyone's TBR. I'm already dying to get my hands on the sequel to find out what happens next!' Adalyn Grace, NYT bestselling author of ALL THE STARS AND TEETH

More in Fantasy Fiction for Children & Teenagers

Billy And The Epic Escape - Jamie Oliver

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Into the Mouth of the Wolf - Erin Gough

SIGNED COPY

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Ambush at Sorato : The Royal Ranger: Book 7 - John Flanagan

SIGNED COPY

Liar's Test : The Silverleaf Chronicles - Ambelin Kwaymullina

RRP $24.99

$23.75

House of Light and Ether : Gilded City - Leia Stone

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Hide and Seek : Wolf Girl 11 - Anh Do
Lights Out, Little Dragon! - Debra Tidball

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Percy Jackson and the Olympians : Wrath of the Triple Goddess - Rick Riordan
LightWorkers - Anna Sarelas

Paperback

RRP $27.95

$25.25

10%
OFF
The Assassin's Blade : Throne of Glass Novellas - Sarah J. Maas
House of Hollow : CBCA's Notable Older Reader's Book 2022 - Krystal Sutherland
A Mind Full of Murder : Skulduggery Pleasant : Book 16 - Derek Landy
Kaldoras : The Medoran Chronicles Epilogue - Lynette Noni
All This Twisted Glory : This Woven Kingdom - Tahereh Mafi

EOFY Sale

RRP $19.99

$13.75

31%
OFF
The Eternal Ones : The Gilded Ones #3 - Namina Forna

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Hello Twigs, Ta-Daaa! : Hello Twigs - Andrew McDonald

RRP $10.99

$10.50

Hello Twigs, What a Mess : Hello Twigs - Andrew McDonald

RRP $10.99

$10.50