+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Maestra : The most shocking thriller you'll read this year - LS Hilton

Maestra

The most shocking thriller you'll read this year

By: LS Hilton

Paperback Published: 16th March 2016
ISBN: 9781785760839
Number Of Pages: 384

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $35.99
$11.35
68%
OFF
In Stock
if ordered within
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 23 Qantas Points
on this Book

Sex. Murder. Shoes. A shockingly original and darkly decadent thriller - Gone Girl meets The Talented Mr Ripley.

Judith Rashleigh works as an assistant in a prestigious London auction house, but her dreams of breaking into the art world have been gradually dulled by the blunt forces of snobbery and corruption. To make ends meet she moonlights as a hostess in one of the West End's less salubrious bars - although her work there pales against her activities on nights off.

When Judith stumbles across a conspiracy at her auction house, she is fired before she can expose the fraud. In desperation, she accepts an offer from one of the bar's clients to accompany him to the French Riviera. But when an ill-advised attempt to slip him sedatives has momentous consequences, Judith finds herself fleeing for her life. Now alone and in danger, all Judith has to rely on is her consummate ability to fake it amongst the rich and famous - and the inside track on the hugely lucrative art fraud that triggered her dismissal.

Set in the exotic palaces and yachts of Europe's seriously wealthy, Maestra is a shockingly original thriller. With a heroine as wickedly perceptive as Amy Dunne and as dangerous as Lisbeth Salander, this marks the beginning of a razor-sharp and meteoric sequence of novels that will have readers around the world on the edge of their seats and holding their breath.

About the Author

L.S. Hilton grew up in England and has lived in Key West, New York City, Paris and Milan. After graduating from Oxford, she studied art history in Paris and Florence. She has worked as a journalist, art critic, and broadcaster, and is presently based in London.

Industry Reviews

Brimming with scandal, intrigue and mystery, this is a book that everyone is talking about * Heat * [U]tterly un-put-down-able, a shocking and sexy psychological thriller * PopSugar * Set in a world of oligarchs, Mafiosi and dodgy art dealers, it also has in Judith Rashleigh a heroine you'll either love or loathe, at least two jaw-on-the-floor moments and sex scenes that would make Christian Grey blush * Red magazine * The next Gone Girl thriller everyone will be talking about * GoodReads Review * Smart, pacy and very rude * Glamour * Riveting... one of the most memorable females in recent fiction * Amy Pascal, Columbia Pictures Producer * Maestra features a feisty, morally complex and sharp heroine who may appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl * New York Times * A psychological thriller set on the French Riviera, rather like Patricia Highsmith crossed with Gone Girl, unsurprisingly, there's a film deal in the works * Harpers Bazaar, '10 Best Books for 2016' * This is already being compared to The Girl On The Train and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo in terms of addictability * Glamour, `11 Female Authored Reads for 2016' * One for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey * Grazia, 'Best of New Books' * This new thriller features a sexually voracious heroine eager to make her mark on the world * Irish Daily Mail * Fantastically good fun... LS Hilton can write. She can even make you think that popping along to a sex party..is quite a good idea. She writes convincingly about female desire. This book will make money and give pleasure -- Christina Patterson * The Sunday Times * A gloriously dark thriller... * Grazia Magazine * A maest (sic) read * Grazia Magazine * We'll be talking about the protagonist of this steamy thriller for years to come... * Grazia Magazine * Fifty Shades it is not- it's much better...There's a real plot. And real sexy talk....it's the very definition of a page turner. * Hear Magazine * The sexiest book of the year * Nottingham Post * It's a hot read! * Strathallen Times, Stirling News * In this marvellous debut, Hilton shows us how deadly such work can sometimes be. * Max Dunbar Blog * Well written and fast paced, and with a scandalous peep into the world of art dealing and a liberal amount of sex, MAESTRA is a fun and enjoyable read. * crimethrillergirl.com * This years must read * Huddersfield Daily Examiner, Evening Chronicle (Newcastle), South Wales Echo, Liverpool Echo, Daily Post (Wales) * She (Hilton) is smart and scathing on the art world; she clearly knows her stuff, and the novel is most interesting when she digresses into art history. -- Stephanie Merritt * The Observer, The New Review * You'll have to move to a wi-fi free island in the middle of the Pacific for Maestra to pass you by this summer....Set to be the 'it' book of 2016...A murderous heroine you'll love to hate. -- Hannah Britt * Daily Express, Scottish Daily Express * This years The Girl on the Train * Sheer Luxe * * I went from not thinking I'd enjoy it to not wanting to put it down. Gripped from the very first 'c' bomb dropped on page two. Judith is a sassy, smart and very dangerous heroine and I couldn't help but really like her. So read it before everyone else does because I do think it will be the most talked abut book this year - and with reason. -- Amy Space * Bella Magazine's Editor * 'This is the must-read raunchy book of the year' * Xpose Magazine * A bonkbuster with brains... LS Hilton sets pulses racing with her novel Maestra, about orgies, escorts and the art world -- Fiona Wilson * The Times Ireland * This year's Fifty Shades brings sexual intrigue to the world of art fraud. At last someone has. * Cosmopolitan Magazine * Darkly compelling...a female reincarnation of Patricia Highsmith's Tom Ripley... * Winq * Judith Rashleigh, also known as Lauren, is a woman on a mission, fuelled by a simmering hatred that drives her calculating behaviour ... * tripfiction.com * Completely Unputdownable -- Sue Turnbull * The Age, Australia * A spectacular act of revenge- on the English middle class- and men...aloof and independent minded... * Standpoint Magazine * A glamorous, witty and adrenaline fuelled romp- if you like your heroines sexy, vengeful, amoral and lethal thenMaestra delivers in spades. * Irish Times, Weekend Review * Maestra has an incredibly gorgeous vibe in both character study and scene setting, the writing is visceral, beautiful and indelible. This one will stay with you... Highly HIGHLY Recommended. * lizlovesbooks.com * It's a hot read! * Hillfoot Advertiser * The Talented Mr Ripley meets Gone Girl in this darkly decadent and compelling new thriller * mojomums.co.uk * Deliciously decadent...a glamorous and racy adventure * Sunday Mirror * Maestra is a fun, sexy novel...more self-determined than the ones her recent predecessors have offered -- Fiona Wilson * The Times * A psychological thriller set on the French Riviera, rather like Patricia Highsmith crossed with Gone Girl, unsurprisingly, there's a film deal in the works * Harpers Bazaar Magazine * Maestra features a feisty, morally complex and sharp heroine who may appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl * New York Times *

Lightweight Mills & Boon

2

Excellent.

SE Qld

false

An exciting,wild ride.

4

very satisfied.

Pt lincoln, Au

true

Rubbish

1

Boring, shallow unlikeable characters, stupid storyline, and really pointless!

Sydney

false

Left feeling a bit flat.

3

I haven't read this author before and wasn't expecting to be left hanging.... but there were some exciting chapters.

New Zealand

false

Too much sexual content

3

Story good but sexual content was too much.

Penrith

false

Crime

2

Similar to Lighter Shades of Grey. Unusual to hear from a killer rather than about a killer. Different perpestive.

Melbourne

false

Can come across as rubbish in the first few chapters.

3

It is a bit trashy as 50 Shades was a bit trashy. IF you bin it after the first few chapters, you'll miss the point of the book. It ends up being a murder story with the sex thrown in to bounce it along. Was it as good as I thought it would be.. no. But still worth a read.

Melbourne

true

Not in the same legue as "Gone Girl" "Girl on a Train"

1

Booktopia service excellent...always reliable.

melbourne

false

Definately not the thriller of the year!

2

Was looking forward to reading this book but so disappointed. Poorly edited with grammatical mistakes, weak plot which failed to build suspense and some sex scenes thrown in which appear to have little to do with the story - I guess to get people to buy it. There are much better books out there to spend your money on.

Brisbane

false

Wasted my time

2

Inexperienced writer. Plot holes, confusing situations and illogical behavior of the main character. Gave it 2 stars for the use of rich vocabulary and extraordinary scenery descriptions.

Sydney

false

Maestra

2.4 15

23.1

ISBN: 9781785760839
ISBN-10: 1785760831
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 16th March 2016
Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 2.5
Weight (kg): 0.46

Earn 23 Qantas Points
on this Book