Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Legendborn : TikTok made me buy it! - Tracy Deonn
Best of #BookTok

Legendborn

TikTok made me buy it!

By: Tracy Deonn

Paperback | 1 October 2020

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%OFF

Expected to ship in at least 4 weeks


Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic. An explosive fantasy debut that's perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas and Cinderella is Dead!

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her family memories or childhood home. A residential programme for bright high-schoolers at UNC – Chapel Hill seems like the perfect escape – until Bree witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus.

A flying demon feeding on human energies.

A secret society of so called “Legendborn” students that hunt the creatures down.

And a mysterious teenage mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and who attempts – and fails – to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw.


The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory with a hidden connection: the night her mother died, another Merlin was at the hospital. Now that Bree knows there’s more to her mother’s death than what’s on the police report, she’ll do whatever it takes to find out the truth, even if that means infiltrating the Legendborn as one of their initiates.

She recruits Nick, a self-exiled Legendborn with his own grudge against the group, and their reluctant partnership pulls them deeper into the society’s secrets – and closer to each other. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and explain that a magical war is coming, Bree has to decide how far she’ll go for the truth and whether she should use her magic to take the society down – or join the fight.

About the Author

Tracy Deonn is a writer and second-generation fangirl. She grew up in central North Carolina, where she devoured fantasy books and Southern food in equal measure. After earning her master's degree in communication and performance studies from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Tracy worked in live theater, video game production, and K–12 education. When she’s not writing, Tracy speaks on panels at science fiction and fantasy conventions, reads fanfic, arranges puppy playdates, and keeps an eye out for ginger-flavored everything. She can be found on Twitter at @TracyDeonn and at TracyDeonn.com.
Industry Reviews
A King Arthur reimagining that adds seats to the roundtable, inviting new readers to find themselves within its lore, Tracy Deonn’s Legendborn braids southern folk traditions and Black Girl Magic into a searing modern tale of grief, power and self-discovery.

More in General, Modern & Contemporary Fiction for Children & Teenagers

One By One They Disappear - Mike Lucas

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Into the Mouth of the Wolf - Erin Gough

SIGNED COPY

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Bluey : The Decider - Bluey

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Ambush at Sorato : The Royal Ranger: Book 7 - John Flanagan

SIGNED COPY

Golden Gate : City Spies - James Ponti

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Different for Boys - Patrick Ness

RRP $15.99

$15.25

Liar's Test : The Silverleaf Chronicles - Ambelin Kwaymullina

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Willa and Woof 7 : Camp Chaos - Jacqueline Harvey

RRP $12.99

$12.35

Bluey : The Doctor - Bluey

Board Book

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Supernatural : An Official Spooky Picture Book - Micol Ostow
Swift and Hawk : Supernova - Logan Macx

RRP $18.99

$17.35

Eleanor Jones Can't Keep a Secret - Amy Doak

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Brock the Croc - Adrian Beck

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Sleepy Sheepy - Lucy Ruth Cummins

Hardcover

$19.99

The Second-best Friend : Billie B Brown Series : Book 4 - Sally Rippin