Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Jaded : The must-read novel for 2024 - Ela Lee

Jaded

The must-read novel for 2024

By: Ela Lee

Paperback | 6 February 2024

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

For fans of Queenie, The List and I May Destroy You, this razor sharp debut novel will capture your heart, make you laugh and sob, and will leave you asking yourself- what would you have done in Jade's situation?

For fans of Such A Fun Age, Prima Facie, and I May Destroy You, discover the must-read for 2024.

'Jade isn't even my real name. Jade began as my Starbucks name, because all children of immigrants have a Starbucks name.'

Jade has become everything she ever wanted to be.

Successful lawyer.
Dutiful daughter.
Beloved girlfriend.
Loyal friend.

She is perfectly in control of her life.

Until one terrible night changes everything.

Caught between her parents who can't understand, her boyfriend who feels betrayed, and her job that expects silence, the world Jade has constructed starts to crumble.

This razor-sharp, darkly funny exploration of identity, consent and love will leave you asking yourself- what would you have done in Jade's situation?

About the Author

Ela Lee was born in 1995 and is a British-Korean-Turkish writer. She studied Law at the University of Oxford and went on to practise as a City lawyer. In 2021, during the global pandemic, Ela began work on her debut novel, JADED, which explores themes of consent, race, and identity. She lives in London, with her partner and their mini Aussie Shepherd.
Industry Reviews
JADED is a thoughtful, hard-hitting exploration of race, identity, and the rippling effects of sexual assault. Ela Lee writes with an urgency and clarity that will have you hooked until the last page. * Cecile Pin, author of Wandering Souls *

Wonderfully multi-faceted and emotionally compelling * Jessica George, author of MAAME *

Ela Lee is an electrifying new voice, and this is an ambitious gut-punch of a novel. Like I May Destroy You meets Industry, it's a witty, nuanced and thought-provoking interrogation of attitudes towards race, power and consent * Bobby Palmer, author of ISAAC AND THE EGG *

Jaded is a sharp, bold and compulsively readable story of power, money, sex and survival. Ela Lee writes with utter clarity and heartbreaking insight about the cost of survival in cut-throat corporate environments and about the gray space between complicity and compromise. Urgent and necessary, this is a book that will take up space in your heart and mind long after the last page * Cecilia Rabess, author of EVERYTHING'S FINE *

Brutal but sadly realistic, JADED is a clarion call against the resounding silence of corporate law which has gone untouched and unmoved by #metoo. Quietly devastating * Ella King, author of BAD FRUIT *

You Can Find This Book In

More in Modern & Contemporary Fiction

Pheasants Nest - Louise Milligan

RRP $32.99

$30.25

My Favourite Mistake - Marian Keyes

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Work - Bri Lee

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$27.25

17%
OFF
The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Call It What You Want : A Novel - Alissa DeRogatis

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Our Holiday - Louise Candlish

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Hurdy Gurdy - Jenny Ackland

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Parade - Rachel Cusk

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Lies and Weddings - Kevin Kwan

RRP $34.99

$31.75

I Hope This Finds You Well - Natalie Sue

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Little Clothes - Deborah Callaghan

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Forgotten - Casey Nott

Paperback

RRP $28.95

$27.50

Never Let Me Go - Kazuo Ishiguro

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Boy Swallows Universe - Trent Dalton

RRP $22.99

$21.90

This product is categorised by