Hysteria : A memoir of illness, strength and women's stories throughout history - Katerina Bryant

Hysteria

A memoir of illness, strength and women's stories throughout history

By: Katerina Bryant

Paperback | 1 September 2020

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $29.99

$28.90

Aims to ship in 15 to 18 business days

When Katerina Bryant suddenly began experiencing chronic seizures, she was plunged into a foreign world of doctors and psychiatrists, who understood her condition as little as she did. Reacting the only way she knew how, she immersed herself in books, reading her way through her own complicated diagnosis and finding a community of women who shared similar experiences.

In the tradition of Siri Hustvedt’s The Shaking Woman, Bryant blends memoir with literary and historical analysis to explore women’s medical treatment. Hysteria retells the stories of silenced women, from the ‘Queen of Hysterics’ Blanche Wittmann to Mary Glover’s illness termed ‘hysterica passio’ a panic attack caused by the movement of the uterus — in London in 1602 and more. By centring these stories of women who had no voice in their own diagnosis and treatment, Bryant finds her own voice: powerful, brave and resonant.

About the Author

Katerina Bryant is a writer based in South Australia. Her work has appeared in Griffith Review, The Lifted Brow, Kill Your Darlings, Southerly, Island Magazine and Voiceworks, amongst others. She has been shortlisted for the 2019 TLB & RMIT non/fiction Lab Prize for Experimental Writing, the 2018 Feminartsy Memoir Prize, and the 2016 Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers. She has also been anthologised in the collection Balancing Acts: Women in Sport (Brow Books). She is the inaugural recipient of the 2018 Writers SA Varuna Fellowship for Emerging Writers, and has appeared in various panels and events including the Emerging Writers' Festival and National Young Writers' Festival.
Industry Reviews
'Hysteria is a timely and exciting work, keenly interested in the long history of women being treated — and mistreated — by the medical system, and the ways in which their complicated legacy is still being felt today. At once deeply personal and broadly political, it is a touching and tender examination of what it means to live in a body and with a brain that is aberrant or unwell, and how we might find a shape for our selves and our experiences in these circumstances. Bryant is a careful and intelligent writer, and this is a book that will have a great impact on many people.'
— Fiona Wright

‘At once devastating, hopeful, comforting and bold. Bryant captures precisely, beautifully what it is to be made uncertain by illness.’
— Anna Spargo-Ryan

‘Katerina Bryant explores the disorienting and distressing phenomenon previously known — and denigrated — as 'hysteria' with compassion and insight.’
— Meera Atkinson

More in Literary Autobiographies

Hazzard and Harrower : The letters - Brigitta Olubas

RRP $39.99

$31.75

21%
OFF
A Memoir of My Former Self : A Life in Writing - Hilary Mantel

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Cost of Living : Living Autobiography - Deborah Levy

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Mermaids Singing and Peel Me a Lotus - Charmian Clift

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
The Year of Magical Thinking - Joan Didion

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Boy : Tales of Childhood - Roald Dahl

RRP $16.99

$15.80

On Writing : A Memoir of the Craft - Stephen King

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Stay True : Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in Memoir - Hua Hsu
Island Home - Tim Winton

Paperback

RRP $24.99

$18.95

24%
OFF
Arrangements in Blue : Notes on Love and Making a Life - Amy Key
Eleven Letters to You - Helen Elliott

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
A Private Spy : The Letters of John le Carre 1945-2020 - John le Carré
An Autobiography - Agatha Christie

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Fun Home : A Family Tragicomic - Alison Bechdel

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
I Feel Bad About My Neck : And Other Thoughts On Being a Woman - Nora Ephron
Bedtime Story - Chloe Hooper

Paperback

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Still Pictures : On Photography and Memory - Janet Malcolm

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
One Day I'll Remember This : Diaries 1987-1995 - Helen Garner

RRP $29.99

$13.25

56%
OFF
Arabesques : A Tale of Double Lives - Robert Dessaix

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $24.99

$22.50

10%
OFF
Yellow Notebook : Diaries Volume I 1978-1987 - Helen Garner

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Land's Edge : A Coastal Memoir - Tim Winton

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF