Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Dreadful - Caitlin Rozakis

Dreadful

By: Caitlin Rozakis

Paperback | 28 May 2024

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

A sharp-witted, high fantasy farce featuring killer moat squid, toxic masculinity, evil wizards and a garlic festival all at once. Perfect for fans of T. Kingfisher, K. J. Parker and Travis Baldree.

It's bad enough waking up in a half-destroyed evil wizard's workshop with no eyebrows, no memories, and no idea how long you have before the Dread Lord Whomever shows up to murder you horribly and then turn your skull into a goblet or something.

It's a lot worse when you realise that Dread Lord Whomever is...you.

Gav isn't really sure how he ended up with a castle full of goblins, or why he has a princess locked in a cell. All he can do is play along with his own evil plan in hopes of getting his memories back before he gets himself killed. But as he realizes that nothing from the incredibly tasteless cloak adorned with flames to the aforementioned princess is quite what it seems, Gav must face up to all the things the Dread Lord Gavrax has done. And he'll have to answer the hardest question of all who does he want to be? A high fantasy farce featuring killer moat squid, toxic masculinity, an evil wizard convocation, and a garlic festival. All at once. Dread Lord Gavrax has had better weeks.

About the Author

Caitlin Rozakis's work has appeared in Cast of Wonders, Daily Science Fiction, Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine, Weirdbook, Allegory, Liquid Imagination, Bards & Sages, Every Day Fiction, the anthologies Substitution Cipher, Clockwork Chaos, and Baker Street Irregulars II. She was nominated for a 2014 Pushcart Prize and won the 2018 LUMINA Speculative Fiction Contest. She is based in New Jersey, USA and DREADFUL is her first novel.
Industry Reviews
'It was very kind of Caitlin Rozakis to write this book for me. Sure, the rest of you should like it too, but it was clearly written for me, with all the elements I love: fun and humor, breaking fantasy tropes, interesting and complex questions about identity and redemption, and some delightful goblins!' – Jim C. Hines, author of Goblin Quest

'A spellbinding (literally) massacre of all our favourite tropes, underscored with a pleasing dry wit.' – Tom Holt

You Can Find This Book In

More in Fantasy Fiction

Psykhe - Kate Forsyth

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Dark Moon: The Blood Altar, Vol. 3 : DARK MOON THE BLOOD ALTAR GN - HYBE
The Amethyst Kingdom : The Five Crowns of Okrith - A.K. Mulford
The Book of Elsewhere

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The North Wind : The Four Winds - Alexandria Warwick

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Dragon Rider - Taran Matharu

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

A Darkness Returns : The Dragonwar Saga - Raymond E Feist

RRP $45.00

$37.25

17%
OFF
Ascendance of a Bookworm : Part 5 Volume 4 - Miya Kazuki
Winter Lost : Mercy Thompson, Book 14 - Patricia Briggs

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Cold Hearted : Cursed Fae - Leia Stone

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Centaurs Vol 2 : CENTAURS GN - Ryo Sumiyoshi

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $23.99

$21.75

BRAT : A Ghost Story - Gabriel Smith

RRP $34.99

$31.75

King of Battle and Blood : Adrian X Isolde - Scarlett St. Clair
Hera : Bow down to the Queen of Mount Olympus - Jennifer Saint

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Untamed : The Official Artbook (Hardcover) - Mo Xiang Tong Xiu

RRP $95.00

$61.75

35%
OFF
The Hidden Queen : The Nightfall Saga - Peter V. Brett

RRP $35.99

$32.50

10%
OFF

This product is categorised by