+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Castle Hangnail - Ursula Vernon

Paperback Published: 15th August 2016
ISBN: 9780147512734
Number Of Pages: 384
For Ages: 9 - 12 years old

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 30 Qantas Points
on this Book

From the creator of Dragonbreath comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. When Molly shows up on Castle Hangnail's doorstep to fill the vacancy for a wicked witch, the castle's minions are understandably dubious. After all, she is twelve years old, barely five feet tall, and quite polite. (The minions are used to tall, demanding evil sorceresses with razor-sharp cheekbones.) But the castle desperately needs a master or else the Board of Magic will decommission it, leaving all the minions without the home they love.

So when Molly assures them she is quite wicked indeed (So wicked! REALLY wicked!) and begins completing the tasks required by the Board of Magic for approval, everyone feels hopeful. Unfortunately, it turns out that Molly has quite a few secrets, including the biggest one of all: that she isn't who she says she is. This quirky, richly illustrated novelis filled with humor, magic, and an unforgettable all-star cast of castle characters."

About the Author

Ursula Vernon isthe full-time author and illustrator of the popular Dragonbreath series. Herwork has won a Hugo award and been nominated for an Eisner.

Industry Reviews

* "An appealing protagonist, lots of action, clever, witty writing, witchcraft and evildoers who get nothing but what they deserve--what's not to love?" --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A read with substance and resonance...An appealing fantasy for upper middle grade readers." --School Library Journal

"In the tradition of Eva Ibbotson...a wacky, heartwarming tale of magic, friendship, and home." --Booklist

"Vernon...deftly weaves silly, suspenseful, and only slightly scary elements throughout this engaging coming-of-age story, which will easily appeal to fans of spells and sorcery." --Publishers Weekly

"Smart and droll, it's the fantasy you've always wanted to hand to the 10-year-old Goth girl in your life (along with, let's face it, everybody else you know). A true crowd pleaser." --Betsy Bird, A Fuse #8 Production

"A rather cheerfully goth book...that has a great deal of respect for children and what they're capable of." --i09

"Fans of Ibbotson and Vande Velde will be right at home with this novel, and all readers will likely hope that Molly returns for more adventures." --BCCB

"This illustrated novel is lighthearted and funny, and provides an interesting array of characters." --SLC

Awards and Honors for Ursula Vernon:

Winner of the Hugo Award for her adult online comic Digger

Dragonbreath: An IRA/CBC Chidren's Choice
"Great stuff for reluctant and rapacious readers alike."--BCCB
Dragonbreath: Attack of the Ninja Frogs: NYPL Children's Books 2010: 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing, Kirkus Reviews 2010 Best Books for Children
"Delightful."--School Library Journal
Dragonbreath: Curse of the Were-Weiner: An Autumn 2010 Kids' Indie Next List Pick, Kirkus Reviews 2010 Best Books for Children
* "[An] impossibly droll escapade."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Dragonbreath: Lair of the Bat Monster: A Spring 2011 Indie Next List Pick

-- Ursula Vernon

ISBN: 9780147512734
ISBN-10: 0147512735
Audience: Children
For Ages: 9 - 12 years old
For Grades: 4 - 6
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 15th August 2016
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 19.9 x 14.8  x 2.6
Weight (kg): 0.29
Edition Number: 1

Earn 30 Qantas Points
on this Book