+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Bruckner : Symphony No. 8 - Benjamin M. Korstvedt


Symphony No. 8

Paperback Published: 29th May 2000
ISBN: 9780521635370
Number Of Pages: 148

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Earn 77 Qantas Points
on this Book

Other Available Editions (Hide)

Anton Bruckner's Eighth Symphony (1890), one of the last of the great Romantic symphonies, is a grandly complex masterpiece. This book explores this many-faceted work from several angles. It documents the complicated and often misunderstood history of the symphony's composition and revision and provides an accessible guide to its musical design. It demonstrates, by means of a study of well-known recordings, how performance styles have evolved in this century. It also revisits the conventional wisdom about the various versions and editions of the symphony and comes to some provocative new conclusions.

Industry Reviews

'What [this book] does reveal is enough to keep Bruckner-enthusiasts agonising and arguing for decades.' BBC Music Magazine

Placing the Eighth Symphony
The genesis and evolution of the Eighth Symphony
Symphonic design and musical logic
The Adagio and the sublime
The 1887 version and the 1890 version
The 1892 edition, authorship, and performance practice
Haas's edition of the Eighth Symphony
Textual differences between the Finale in the 1890 version and the 1892 version
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521635370
ISBN-10: 0521635373
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 148
Published: 29th May 2000
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.59 x 13.89  x 0.86
Weight (kg): 0.19

Earn 77 Qantas Points
on this Book