Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Book of Night : From the bestselling author of The Folk of the Air series - Holly Black

Book of Night

From the bestselling author of The Folk of the Air series

By: Holly Black

Paperback | 3 May 2022

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%OFF

Aims to ship in 7 to 10 business days

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus

In Charlie Hall's world, shadows can be altered, for entertainment and cosmetic preferences-but also to increase power and influence. You can alter someone's feelings-and memories-but manipulating shadows has a cost, with the potential to take hours or days from your life. Your shadow holds all the parts of you that you want to keep hidden-a second self, standing just to your left, walking behind you into lit rooms.

And sometimes, it has a life of its own.

Charlie is a low-level con artist, working as a bartender while trying to distance herself from the powerful and dangerous underground world of shadow trading. She gets by doing odd jobs for her patrons and the naive new money in her town at the edge of the Berkshires.

But when a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie's present life is thrown into chaos, and her future seems at best, unclear-and at worst, non-existent. Determined to survive, Charlie throws herself into a maelstrom of secrets and murder, setting her against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, shadow thieves, and her own sister-all desperate to control the magic of the shadows.

With sharp angles and prose, and a sinister bent, Holly Black is a master of shadow and story stitching. Remember while you read, light isn't playing tricks in Book of Night, the people are.

About the Author

Holly Black is the author of bestselling contemporary fantasy books for kids and teens. Some of her titles include The Spiderwick Chronicles (with Tony DiTerlizzi), The Modern Faerie Tale series, the Curse Workers series, Doll Bones, and The Coldest Girl in Coldtown.

She has been a finalist for the Mythopoeic Award and for an Eisner Award, and the recipient of both an Andre Norton Award and a Newbery Honor. Her new books are The Darkest Part of the Forest, a return to faerie fiction, and The Iron Trial, the first book in a middle grade fantasy series, Magisterium, co-authored by Cassandra Clare. Holly currently lives in New England with her husband and son in a house with a secret door.

Other Books By Holly Black

The Cruel Prince : The Folk of the Air Book 1 - Holly Black
The Folk of the Air Trilogy - Boxset - Holly Black

RRP $55.00

$42.25

23%
OFF
The Wicked King : The Folk of the Air Book 2 - Holly Black
The Iron Trial : The Magisterium Series : Book 1 - Cassandra Clare
Magisterium : The Golden Tower : The Magisterium - Holly Black
The Bronze Key : Magisterium Series : Book 3 - Cassandra Clare
Ironside : A Modern Faerie Tale - Holly Black

RRP $22.99

$17.90

22%
OFF
Valiant : A Modern Faerie Tale - Holly Black

RRP $22.99

$17.90

22%
OFF
The Darkest Part of the Forest - Holly Black

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Artists on Art : How They See, Think & Create - Holly Black

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Tithe : A Modern Faerie Tale - Holly Black

RRP $22.99

$17.90

22%
OFF
Red Glove : Curse Workers (Quality) - Holly Black