After the Forest : The unforgettable magical Sunday Times bestselling historical fantasy 2023 debut novel perfect for readers of Naomi Novik, Katherine Arden and Rebecca Ross - Kell Woods

After the Forest

The unforgettable magical Sunday Times bestselling historical fantasy 2023 debut novel perfect for readers of Naomi Novik, Katherine Arden and Rebecca Ross

By: Kell Woods

Paperback | 4 October 2023

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
The stunning historical fantasy taking the world by storm - and captivating some of the biggest names in Australian fiction

Ginger. Honey. Cinnamon. Flour.

A drop of blood to bind its power.


1650: The Black Forest, Wurttemberg. Fifteen years after the witch in the gingerbread house, Greta and Hans are struggling to get by. Their father and stepmother are long dead, Hans is deeply in debt from gambling, and the countryside lies in ruin, its people recovering in the aftermath of a brutal war.

Greta has a secret, though: the witch's grimoire, secreted away and whispering in her ear, and the recipe inside that makes the most sinfully delicious - and addictive - gingerbread. As long as she can bake, Greta can keep her small family afloat.

But in a village full of superstition, Greta and her intoxicating gingerbread is a source of ever-growing suspicion and vicious gossip.

And now, dark magic is returning to the woods and Greta's own power - magic she is still trying to understand - may be the only thing that can save her ...

If it doesn't kill her first.
Industry Reviews
'Deliciously irresistible' - Natasha Lester

'Historical fantasy at its best' - Belinda Alexandra

'Utterly enchanting' - Kate Forsyth

'Utterly captivating ... Dark as molasses and dripping with witchcraft, love and magic gingerbread' - Lauren Chater, bestselling author of The Winter Dress

'A love song to fairy tales ... Sweet as gingerbread and bitterly dark as heart's blood' - Angela Slatter, award-winning author of The Path of Thorns

'Woods is a born storyteller ... Sophisticated and intricately plotted' - Jo Riccioni, award-winning author ofThe Branded and The Rising

'Excellent historical fantasy ... Poetic, evocative, and most of all, addictive. An author to watch and a powerhouse debut' - Grimdark Magazine

'I was hooked from start to end ... With magic, werewolves, gingerbread and a beautiful love story, this Australian debut kept me coming back for more' - Cassie Landt, BorrowBox

More in Myth & Legend Fiction

The North Wind : The Four Winds - Alexandria Warwick

RRP $32.99

$19.95

40%
OFF
Psykhe - Kate Forsyth

SIGNED COPY

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
Dragon Rider - Taran Matharu

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Mysteries of Marigold - Bernadette O'Connor

RRP $36.99

$33.40

10%
OFF
Hera : Bow down to the Queen of Mount Olympus - Jennifer Saint

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Circe : 10th Anniversary Gilded Hardcover Edition - Madeline Miller

RRP $39.99

$31.75

21%
OFF
Mythos : The stunningly iIllustrated story - Stephen Fry

RRP $80.00

$58.90

26%
OFF
A Day of Fallen Night : The Roots of Chaos - Samantha Shannon

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Cruel Seduction : Dark Olympus - Katee Robert

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
Wretched : A Never After Novel - Emily McIntire

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
A Touch of Chaos : Hades X Persephone: Book 4 - Scarlett St. Clair

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
Norse Mythology - Neil Gaiman

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Heroes : The myths of the Ancient Greek heroes retold - Stephen Fry
Circe - Madeline Miller

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Priory of the Orange Tree : The Roots of Chaos - Samantha Shannon
A Touch of Malice : Hades X Persephone - Scarlett St. Clair

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
A Touch of Ruin : Hades X Persephone - Scarlett St. Clair

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
A Game of Fate : Hades Saga: Book 1 - Scarlett St. Clair

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
The Seven Ancient Wonders : A Jack West Jr Novel 1 - Matthew Reilly
Scarred : A Never After Novel - Emily McIntire

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF