1300 187 187
 
The Geography of You and Me - Jennifer E. Smith

Paperback

Published: 8th April 2014
For Ages: 12+ years old
In Stock. Usually ships in 3-4 business days
RRP $19.99
$17.50
12%
OFF

A compelling, heartbreaking story of first love.

Owen lives in the basement. Lucy lives on the 24th floor. But when the power goes out in the midst of a New York heatwave, they find themselves together for the first time: stuck in a broken lift between the 10th and 11th floors. As they await help, they start talking...

The brief time they spend together leaves a mark. And as their lives take them to Edinburgh and San Francisco, to Prague and to Portland, they can't shake the memory of the time they shared. Postcards cross the globe when they themselves can't, as Owen and Lucy experience the joy - and pain - of first love.

And as they make their separate journeys in search of home, they discover that sometimes it is a person rather than a place that anchors you most in the world.

For fans of John Green, Stephanie Perkins and Sarah Ockler, The Geography of You and Me is a story for anyone who's ever longed to meet someone special, for anyone who's searched for home and found it where they least expected it.

About the Author

Jennifer E. Smith is the author of This Is What Happy Looks Like, The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight, The Storm Makers, You Are Here And The Comeback Season. She earned a Master's degree in creative writing from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, and her work has been translated into twenty-nine languages.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
The Geography of You and Me
 
4.0

(based on 1 review)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 1 customer

Displaying review 1

Back to top

 
4.0

Reads like a Romantic Comedy Movie!

By Kate @ Fictional Thoughts

from Brisbane, AU

About Me Bookworm

Verified Reviewer

Pros

  • Easy To Understand
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Younger Readers

    Comments about The Geography of You and Me:

    This is the third Jennifer E Smith novel I've read and each time I'm sort of blown away by how she takes a simple idea and turns it into a great contemporary YA read.

    In The Geography of You and Me we get to see one version of what if two complete strangers with very different circumstances get stuck in an elevator together. When New York City experiences an east coast wide power outage, Lucy and Owen find themselves trapped in a small metal box with only each other for company. Lucy is a girl who has always called NYC her home and Owen, a newcomer to the Big Apple, fails to see any reason why anyone would want to live there. Strangers in the night, the two teenagers survive the blackout together only to find that everything changes once the power comes back on. Lucy's family want to transplant her to Europe away from everything she's ever loved and Owen has to try and hold his father together.

    Much like in Ms. Smith's previous novels that I've read (The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, This is What Happy Looks Like), she explores the idea of fate and serendipity. Had both teens not been in the elevator at that precise moment then none of this story would have happened. But it did and I found it to be an adorable read.

    Spanning continents, timezones and many months, Lucy and Owen share a relationship that endures a lot. And I loved how they communicated. This isn't a novel where the teens share their lives via social media but rather postcards are their preferred method of contacting each other.

    The characters are interesting. Lucy is a girl who loves to read and I loved her quirk of wanting to read a book which was set in whichever country she was currently in. She's one of those pleasant people who are easy to read. Owen is a little moodier but he works so hard to keep his dad from falling apart.

    Romance wise – this book is a bit subtler. It's one of those novels where you know from the first few pages that Lucy and Owen are going to be a couple – it's just a matter of how and the beauty is in the journey. Lucy and Owen don't share a lot of pages together because they are geographically challenged. And because of the lack of proximity – they don't even admit to themselves what their relationship could be for a long time. I liked how everything played out but if you're someone who likes when the couple they're barracking for are together and physically there for each other – perhaps this isn't the book for you.

    If you like Jennifer E Smith then I think you'll be a fan of The Geography of You and Me. It is another extraordinary love story which happens to ordinary people. Well written with likeable characters, this book is fun and brings back the romance of communicating via postcards.

    Comment on this review

    I gulped down this book like a glass of ice-cold water on a scorching hot day. If you don't read this book in one sitting there may well be something wrong with you... An absolute treat! Cat Clarke The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is a cracking read full of heart and humour. Hadley is a witty and charming protagonist and Smith's fantastic writing makes you believe that first love really can blossom in just 24 hours, even at 40,000 feet The Bookseller I absolutely loved The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. I read it in one sitting and when I finally put it down I was beaming and a bit tearful...A sweet, charming, romantic book, it's begging to be turned into a film Keris Stainton The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is sweet, tender and uplifting - everything you could want The Bookette

    ISBN: 9781472206299
    ISBN-10: 1472206290
    Audience: Teenager / Young Adult
    For Ages: 12+ years old
    Format: Paperback
    Language: English
    Number Of Pages: 352
    Published: 8th April 2014
    Dimensions (cm): 21.8 x 13.9  x 2.8
    Weight (kg): 0.38