+612 9045 4394
 
A Court of Thorns and Roses : A Court of Thorns and Roses : Book 1 - Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses : Book 1

Paperback

Published: 1st May 2015
For Ages: 12 - 15 years old
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
RRP $16.99
$11.80
31%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 5th May 2015
Format: ePUB
RRP $11.99
$9.75
19%
OFF

Lose yourself in a land of legends, a fae world so sumptuous that you may never return home . The tantalising start to a seductive high-fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas. Fans of Laini Taylor and George R.R. Martin will find it irresistible

Feyre's survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill - the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price .

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre's presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever. The start of a sensational romantic fantasy trilogy by the bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
A Court of Thorns and Roses
 
4.0

(based on 7 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (3)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (3)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

86%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Engaging characters (6)
  • Page turner (6)
  • Well written (6)
  • Deserves multiple readings (3)
  • Suspenseful (3)

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

No Best Uses
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Bookworm (5)

Reviewed by 7 customers

Displaying reviews 1-7

Back to top

 
1.0

a waste of money

By 

from new zealand

About Me Bookworm

Pros

  • It Ended

Cons

  • Boring
  • Not the Author's Best
  • Not What I expected
  • Uneventful

Best Uses

  • No One

Comments about A Court of Thorns and Roses:

this book was an absolute waste of money. nothing even happens till the last 100 pages!! i nearly stopped reading it so many times but i was told the sequel was much better. i don't recommend anyone torture themselves by reading this book. i don't understand the high ratings, it is sarah j maas' worst book so far (and queen of shadows was awful)

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
5.0

ITS A PRICKLY PROBLEM....

Profile Image

By 

from Adelaide SA

About Me Bookworm

Pros

  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Engaging Characters
  • Full Of Omg Moments
  • Page Turner
  • Well Written

Cons

  • It Ends
  • It Has Romantic Aspects

Best Uses

  • Awesome Ya Novel
  • Gift

Comments about A Court of Thorns and Roses:

Book one of this much lauded YA Fantasy series is, to put it mildly, an extraordinary reading experience. It must be said, however, that ACOTAR starts off relatively slowly. The reader is introduced to the book's principal character - Feyre - who is a huntress who kills for her own survival and that of her family. Her father is a broken man. Crippled, both physically, financially, and metaphorically. Her mother died when she was younger. He sisters are unloving, and facetious. Her brothers were something our heroine were not blessed with.

Fate brings Fayre and a beautiful, fully grown wolf together in the sunlight dappled reaches of the nearby Forest. Destiny steps forth to convince Fayre to kill the wolf. She does so, and her life is never the same again. For the wolf she killed was anything but. Fayre is captured for the kill and punishment is either instant death, or lifelong banishment into the enemy's kingdom. She chooses the latter to save her family, and this is where the book's true nature takes form and steals the reader's heart.

For this is where we meet Tamlin, and Lucien. The sworn and hated enemies who aren't. It is easy to detest them both, but read on, and your feelings toward them will soften. Moments of breathtaking excitement and beauty follow. Chapter after chapter, after chapter, feature cliffhangers and profound plot twists, that quite literally, take your breath away, and make it impossible for the reader to put the book down. A chain of truly stupendous OMG moments leave the reader in tatters when they realise they must put the book down eventually to rejoin society. Chapter thirteen is where the book finds it's street cred from a fantasy perspective. And chapter eighteen is a good way for the reader to determine if they are still human, and if they still have a heart than can be broken.

This book is structured, and written beautifully. Pacing is perfect, too. A harsh critic would give it four stars and say, 'its only book one of a trilogy, and you need to leave room for improvement...' Well, I ain't no harsh critic. This book is worth full marks, and if the rest are even better, then no doubt the world will get to hear of it. ACOTAR is the first Sarah J Maas book that i have picked up and it is truly gorgeous in just about every was imaginable. My good fortune lies in the fact that book two is less than three months away. That gives me time to read this one again (and again, and again) in readiness, or go and purchase the other titles in her world wide best selling catalog.

Either way, I can't lose. It's a prickly problem that I am delighted to find myself in a quandary over.

Yo to that.

Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

 
5.0

I love Sarah J. Maas!

By 

from NSW, AU

About Me Bookworm

Pros

  • Engaging Characters
  • Page Turner
  • Rhysand
  • Suspenseful
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

      Comments about A Court of Thorns and Roses:

      This book was fantastic. World building, writing. Characters. I love all of Sarah J. Maas' books, and this one didn't disappoint.

      Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

       
      4.0

      New things around every corner, holding my breath for more

      By 

      from Albury

      About Me Everyday Reader

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Engaging Characters
      • Page Turner
      • Well Written

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Travel Reading

        Comments about A Court of Thorns and Roses:

        The book is fantastic! The illustrations on the cover make you think though what it really means will leave you stunned.. I wasn't much into fantasy until I read this book.. It blew me away.

        Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

         
        4.0

        Good read

        By 

        from NSW, AU

        About Me Bookworm

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Engaging Characters
        • Page Turner
        • Suspenseful
        • Well Written

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Younger Readers

          Comments about A Court of Thorns and Roses:

          This book is geared toward young adult readers, it follows the same concept as beauty and the beast. The first half was a good read, the second half was where the plot got a lot more engaging and suspenseful. This book was a good start to the series.

          Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

           
          4.0

          Sarah J Maas does it again

          By 

          from Adelaide

          Verified Buyer

          Pros

          • Deserves Multiple Readings
          • Engaging Characters
          • Page Turner
          • Well Written

          Cons

            Best Uses

              Comments about A Court of Thorns and Roses:

              I really enjoyed this book. I don't what else there is to say other than it's a fantastic story and I will definitely be picking up the next one in the series when it comes out.

              Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

              (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

               
              5.0

              PERFECTION

              By 

              from Sydney AU

              About Me Bookworm

              Verified Buyer

              Pros

              • Deserves Multiple Readings
              • Engaging Characters
              • Hot Characters
              • Page Turner
              • Suspenseful
              • Well Written

              Cons

                Best Uses

                • Teenage girls
                • Younger Readers

                Comments about A Court of Thorns and Roses:

                read it in a day!!

                Comment on this reviewHelp Icon

                Displaying reviews 1-7

                Back to top

                Fabulously romantic and verging on the erotic, it demands rereading -- Amanda Craig New Statesman All kinds of awesome. It's magical, enthralling and utterly magnificent - everything I hoped for in a fantasy novel. I adored the world that Sarah J. Maas has created in this truly enchanting novel BookEvin A New York Times and USA Today bestseller Praise for Crown of Midnight Readers seeking the political intrigue of Kristen Cashore's Graceling and ... the deadly competition at the heart of The Hunger Games will find both [here] Praise for Throne of Glass, Publisher's Weekly Fans of Tamora Pierce and George R.R. Martin, pick up this book! Praise for Throne of Glass, RT Book Review

                Sarah J. Maas

                Sarah J. Maas wrote the first incarnation of her debut novel, Throne of Glass, when she was just sixteen. Since its publication, it has been shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Teen Book of the Year and has sold in sixteen languages. The sequels, Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire, are New York Times bestsellers. When Sarah is not writing, she can be found watching everything from Star Wars to Hayao Miyazaki films and reading fairy tales.

                Visit Sarah J. Maas's Booktopia Author Page


                ISBN: 9781408857861
                ISBN-10: 1408857863
                Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses
                Audience: Teenager / Young Adult
                For Ages: 12 - 15 years old
                Format: Paperback
                Language: English
                Number Of Pages: 432
                Published: 1st May 2015
                Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
                Country of Publication: GB
                Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 3.5
                Weight (kg): 0.5