Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Rig - Roger Levy

The Rig

By: Roger Levy

eBook | 8 May 2018

At a Glance

eBook


RRP $12.99

$11.99

Instant Digital Delivery to your Booktopia Reader App

An astounding SF thriller for fans of Adrian Tchaikovsky, Neal Stephenson, Alastair Reynolds and David Mitchell.
Humanity has spread across many planets, connected by the Song, the information superhighway, and held together by AfterLife. All humans have neurids - organic chips that record your entire life - implanted in their brains at birth, and at the moment of death, one may be lucky enough to discover that your neurid is active. That means you are placed in a sarc and held in suspended animation in the seas of the planet of Bleak, until a cure for your illness has been discovered and you are put up in a public vote. Billions of people from across the system will read your life story, taken from your neurid, and vote on whether you deserve to be cured. Who needs god when moral behaviour is encouraged by social media?
On the planet of Gehenna, the only planet that still worships a god, a hyper-intelligent but socially challenged boy named Alef meets Pellon Hoq, the son of a crime boss whose empire spans the system. Over the course of two decades the friends become the worst of enemies, as Pellon Hoq is driven mad by his own mortality, and Alef seeks to find an answer that will prevent a terrible tragedy.
On the planet of Bleak where the sarcs bob in the endless sea amidst the great rigs that extract the planet's core, Raisa is working on a story. She is a writer for TruTales, a Song site that sends her all over the system in search of lives to write down. When a lawman she has been interviewing is drawn into a string of murders, Raisa begins to suspect that her AI handler for the site has a plan for her.
At its core, RIG is an SF thriller with two alternating narrative strands that ultimately draw perfectly together. One strand traces the story of two boys bound terribly together, who in time control a vast criminal organisation, while the other explores an apparently insignificant murder that opens into something far greater.

on

You Can Find This eBook In

More in Science Fiction

The Ghost Soldiers : Poems - James Tate

eBOOK

RRP $28.59

$22.99

20%
OFF
Burn This Book : Notes on Literature and Engagement - Toni Morrison

eBOOK

World of Warcraft: Jaina Proudmoore : Tides of War - Christie Golden

eBOOK

Cold Equations : The Body Electric, Book III - David Mack

eBOOK

World of Warcraft : Wolfheart - Richard A. Knaak

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
World of Warcraft: Thrall : Twilight of the Aspects - Christie Golden

eBOOK

The Fall : The Poisoned Chalice - James Swallow

eBOOK

RRP $28.59

$22.99

20%
OFF
The Fall : Revelation and Dust - David R. George III

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
Typhon Pact: Raise the Dawn : Raise the Dawn - David R. George III

eBOOK

Starcraft II : Flashpoint - Christie Golden

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
Typhon Pact : The Struggle Within - Christopher L. Bennett

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
Vanguard : What Judgments Come - Dayton Ward

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
The 13th Hour : A Thriller - Richard Doetsch

eBOOK

RRP $31.89

$25.99

19%
OFF
Open Secrets : Open Secrets - Dayton Ward

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
Synthesis : Synthesis - James Swallow

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
Serenity : Serenity - Keith R. A. DeCandido

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
Orion's Hounds : Titan #3: Orion's Hounds - Christopher L. Bennett

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
Gods of Green Mountain - V. C. Andrews

eBOOK

RRP $13.19

$10.99

17%
OFF
Seekers : Second Nature - David Mack

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
Diablo III : Storm of Light - Nate Kenyon

eBOOK

RRP $17.59

$14.99

15%
OFF

This product is categorised by