Anywhere but Schuylkill - Michael Dunn

Anywhere but Schuylkill

By: Michael Dunn, Historium Press

eBook | 19 September 2023

At a Glance

eBook


RRP $14.29

$13.99

Instant Digital Delivery to your Booktopia Reader App

In 1877, twenty Irish coal miners were hanged for a terrorist conspiracy that never occurred.

Anywhere But Schuylkill is the story of one who escaped, Mike Doyle, a teenager trying to keep his family alive during the worst depression the nation has ever faced. Banks and railroads are going under. Children are dying of hunger. The Reading Railroad has slashed wages and hired Pinkerton spies to infiltrate the miners' union. And there is a sectarian war between rival gangs. But none of this compares with the threat at home.

Advance Praise

"In the tradition of Upton Sinclair and Jack London, Michael Dunn gives us a gritty portrait of working-class life and activism during one of the most violent eras in U.S. labor history. Anywhere but Schuylkill is a social novel built out of passion and the textures of historical research. It is both a tale of 1870s labor unrest and a tale for the inequalities and injustices of the twenty-first century."

-Russ Castronovo, author of Beautiful Democracy and Propaganda 1776.

"Michael Dunn has created the characters that bring the 19th Century's Mine Wars to life for today's readers. Anywhere but Schuylkill will remind readers of John Sayles and Tillie Olsen and the best in the long tradition of labor literature."

-James Tracy, co-author of Hillbilly Nationalists, Urban Race Rebels, and Black Power: Interracial Solidarity in 1960s-70s New Left Organizing

"The Banshees of Inisherin and 1917 are two of the best historical films I've seen in recent years, particularly the cinematography. Yet the visuals Michael Dunn creates in Anywhere But Schuylkill, are richer, more vivid, more imaginative, and more haunting and indelible than what I recall in those brilliant films. It's like the author transports himself to each scene and brings to life each physical detail, each expression, each emotion, and each word of dialogue with the care of a Renaissance painter."

-David Aretha, award-winning author of Malala Yousafzai and the Girls of Pakistan, and Martin Luther King Jr. and the 1963 March on Washington.

on

More in Historical Fiction

The Women - Kristin Hannah

eBOOK

$16.99

Ya-Yas in Bloom : A Novel - Rebecca Wells

eBOOK

RRP $29.69

$23.99

19%
OFF
A Future : A Novel - Phillip Rock

eBOOK

RRP $28.59

$22.99

20%
OFF
Aftermath of Dreaming : A Novel - DeLauné Michel

eBOOK

RRP $13.19

$10.99

17%
OFF
Beyond Temptation : The Templar Knights - Mary Reed McCall

eBOOK

RRP $13.19

$10.99

17%
OFF
Bodies in Motion : Stories - Mary Anne Mohanraj

eBOOK

RRP $28.59

$22.99

20%
OFF
Chicano : A Novel - Richard Vasquez

eBOOK

RRP $27.49

$21.99

20%
OFF
Paradise Alley - Kevin Baker

eBOOK

RRP $28.59

$22.99

20%
OFF
Never Mind the Pollacks : A Rock and Rock Novel - Neal Pollack

eBOOK

The Storm : A Novel - Frederick Buechner

eBOOK

RRP $28.59

$22.99

20%
OFF
The Sweetest Sin - Mary Reed McCall

eBOOK

RRP $13.19

$10.99

17%
OFF
The Journeys of Socrates : An Adventure - Dan Millman

eBOOK

RRP $28.59

$22.99

20%
OFF
The Scroll of Seduction : A Novel - Gioconda Belli

eBOOK

RRP $28.59

$22.99

20%
OFF
Mr. Timothy : A Novel - Louis Bayard

eBOOK

RRP $31.89

$25.99

19%
OFF
The Big War - Anton Myrer

eBOOK

RRP $29.69

$23.99

19%
OFF
The Treasure of Montsegur : A Novel of the Cathars - Sophy Burnham

eBOOK

The Camel Bookmobile : A Novel - Masha Hamilton

eBOOK

RRP $18.69

$14.99

20%
OFF
Annette Vallon : A Novel of the French Revolution - James Tipton

eBOOK

Three Times Blessed : Belles of Timber Creek - Lori Copeland

eBOOK

Sins of the Father : A Novel - Angela Benson

eBOOK

RRP $17.59

$14.99

15%
OFF