Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Alice   : The biggest untold story in the history of money - Stuart Kells

Alice

The biggest untold story in the history of money

By: Stuart Kells

Paperback | 3 April 2024

At a Glance

EOFY Sale

Paperback


RRP $35.00

$24.50

30%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
From Wall Street to the supreme court, how the world's largest banks control the money markets and crush competition

In the 1980s and 90s, amid an explosion in international money flows, a handful of people saw a new financial future and staked claims in it, triggering a battle to control the world's money markets. With phenomenal profits at stake, the conflict would go all the way to the United States Supreme Court, in a case that involved not just the largest Wall Street banks but also the tech behemoths of Silicon Valley.

The extraordinary story of Alice Corporation, a company created to reimagine financial markets, brings together an unlikely cast of characters- renowned author Kate Jennings, international banking insider Ian Shepherd, Enron CEO Jeffrey Skilling, German-born World War II historian Sigrid MacRae, J.P. Morgan deputy chair Roberto Mendoza - and his dog, Stanley.

In the tradition of Michael Lewis's Flash Boys and The Big Short, Alice is a story of ground-breaking insights, legal intrigue and improbable friendships. Pinpointing the likely causes of the next financial crisis, Alice reveals the fight to build a safer, fairer financial future.

About the Author

Stuart Kells is one of Australia's leading writers on the history of business and finance. Adjunct Professor at La Trobe Business School, he has twice won the Ashurst Business Literature Prize. His shorter works have been published around the world including in Smithsonian, The Paris Review, The Guardian and LitHub. His book The Library- A Catalogue of Wonders was shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award and the NSW Premier's general history prize.

More in Australasian & Pacific History

A Secretive Century : Monte Punshon's Australia 1882-1989 - Tessa Morris-Suzuki
Indigenous Australia For Dummies : 2nd edition - Larissa Behrendt

RRP $39.95

$33.50

16%
OFF
Dark Emu : Aboriginal Australia and the Birth of Agriculture - Bruce Pascoe
Bennelong and Phillip : A History Unravelled - Kate Fullagar

RRP $55.00

$39.90

27%
OFF
Alice : The biggest untold story in the history of money - Stuart Kells

EOFY Sale

The Last of the Nomads - W J Peasley

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Heroes, Rebels and Radicals of Convict Australia - Jim Haynes