1300 187 187
 
The Cuckoo's Calling - Robert Galbraith

Paperback

Published: 30th April 2013
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-3 business days
RRP $29.99
$23.95
20%
OFF

A remarkable debut - a classic crime novel in the tradition of James and Rendell.

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.

A war veteran, wounded both physically and psychologically, Strike's life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger. . .

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair, to the backstreet pubs of the East End, to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable debut. Introducing Cormoran Strike, it is a classic crime novel in the tradition of PD James and Ruth Rendell, and unlike any other book you will read this year.

About the Author

Born in 1968, Robert Galbraith is married with two sons. After several years with the Royal Military Police, he was attached to the SIB (Special Investigation Branch), the plain-clothes branch of the RMP. He left the military in 2003 and has been working since then in the civilian security industry. The idea for protagonist Cormoran Strike grew directly out of his own experiences and those of his military friends who have returned to the civilian world. 'Robert Galbraith' is a pseudonym. J. K. Rowling is the true author.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
The Cuckoo's Calling
 
3.7

(based on 6 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

83%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Engaging characters (4)
  • Easy to read (3)
  • Page-turner (3)
  • Well written (3)

Cons

    Best Uses

        • Reviewer Profile:
        • Bookworm (3)

      Reviewed by 6 customers

      Sort by

      Displaying reviews 1-6

      Back to top

       
      4.0

      An accomoplished author.

      By Dazza

      from Roma, Qld.

      About Me Bookworm

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Deserves Multiple Readings
      • Easy To Read
      • Well Written

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • A Feast For The Mind

        Comments about The Cuckoo's Calling:

        Very hard to our down when started.
        Very hard to find a good writer in all the dross these days, this writer is good.

        Comment on this review

         
        4.0

        perfect for holidays

        By bookish

        from canberra au

        About Me Bookworm

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Easy To Read
        • Engaging characters
        • Page-Turner

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Holiday reading
          • Travel Reading

          Comments about The Cuckoo's Calling:

          I gave this book as a christmas present and ended up reading it first. I loved the damaged Strike and his wide-eyed secretary. I hope there's more to come.

          Comment on this review

           
          4.0

          Purchased on behalf of a friend

          By Bookworm H

          from Country Victoria Au

          About Me Casual Reader

          Verified Buyer

          Pros

          • Engaging characters

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Gift
            • Older Readers

            Comments about The Cuckoo's Calling:

            Delivered right to her door

            Comment on this review

             
            1.0

            the cuckoo's calling

            By Denise

            from Hobart

            About Me Everyday Reader

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

              Cons

              • Difficult To Follow
              • Disappointing
              • Not What I Expected

              Best Uses

                Comments about The Cuckoo's Calling:

                I wouldn't recommend this book to anybody

                Comment on this review

                (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                 
                4.0

                Joanne's undercover triumph

                By Hatarimouse

                from Sydney, AU

                About Me Bookworm

                Verified Buyer

                Pros

                • Authentic
                • Easy To Read
                • Engaging characters
                • Page-Turner
                • Well Written

                Cons

                  Best Uses

                  • Gift
                  • Good read
                  • Travel Reading

                  Comments about The Cuckoo's Calling:

                  JK Rowling, one of the world's most famous living authors, managed to publish a book and have it reviewed on its own merits under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. This is an achievement in itself. The "Harry Potter author" was always going to find it difficult to be taken seriously - and without sniping and derision - as a writer for the adult market. That was made plain by the sneering response to The Casual Vacancy.
                  The pseudonym - a cheery combination of JK Rowling and JK Galbraith - allowed her to write and publish freely and that's possibly why The Cuckoo's Calling is excellent in its own right and also better than its predecessor. (It might also be that she merely improving with practice - it happens.)
                  Rowling/Galbraith has created an attractive character in the deliciously-named detective Cormoran Strike. He's shambolic: deep in debt, sleeping in his office and desperate for a paying gig.
                  Thanks to his temp sec and soon-to-become-ally Robin, the gig arrives in the shape of Lula Landry, a dead super model whose brother believes (unlike the police and the media) that she was murdered, rather than jumping to her death from her luxy London apartment.
                  The list of suspects and red herrings keep the reader and Cormoran on the trail through a lengthy and satisfying investigation. The names are pure Rowling: a bit odd but just this side of unbelievable (For instance, Lula's downstairs neighbours are Tansy and Freddy Bestigui.) Who among the cast could want Lula dead? The journey is an entertaining one.
                  After Galbraith's identity was revealed Rowling said, plaintively, "Being Robert Galbraith has been such a liberating experience… It has been wonderful to publish without hype and expectation and pure pleasure to get feedback under a different name." She might be the world's richest author, but it's hard not to feel sympathy - she's writing the next in the adventures of Strike and Robin, however, so tragedy is averted.

                  Comment on this review

                  (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                   
                  5.0

                  Amazing

                  By crostm

                  from Melbourne, Australia

                  About Me Everyday Reader

                  Verified Buyer

                  Pros

                  • Deserves Multiple Readings
                  • Engaging characters
                  • Page-Turner
                  • Well Written

                  Cons

                    Best Uses

                      Comments about The Cuckoo's Calling:

                      Another amazing outing by author JK Rowling! Being her second venture into novels for adults, her talent as a storyteller is unquestionable. The storyline of Cuckoo's Calling was imaginative and full of suspense, leaving me asking the age old 'Who Done It?' question right up until the last pages. Methodically thought out (as always) with unexpected plot twists, this novel was a fantastic read and one I hope to reread for many years to come. JK Rowling (as Robert Gailbraith)is simply sublime; a true talent and authentic storyteller.

                      Comment on this review

                      Displaying reviews 1-6

                      Back to top

                      A gripping tale Irish Examiner A classic English crime mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London Brisbane News

                      ISBN: 9781408704004
                      ISBN-10: 1408704005
                      Series: Cormoran Strike
                      Audience: General
                      Format: Paperback
                      Language: English
                      Number Of Pages: 464
                      Published: 30th April 2013
                      Dimensions (cm): 23.5 x 15.5  x 3.4
                      Weight (kg): 0.61