+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Hollow City : The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine's Children - Ransom Riggs

Hollow City

The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine's Children

Paperback

Published: 24th February 2015
For Ages: 14+ years old
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $19.99
$16.40
18%
OFF

September 3, 1940. Ten peculiar children flee an army of deadly monsters. And only one person can help them-but she's trapped in the body of a bird. The extraordinary journey that began inMiss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom. Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

"A stunning achievement . . Hollow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut,Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children"-Boston Globe

Bonus features:
Sneak preview of the third Peculiar Children novel
Exclusive Q&A with Ransom Riggs
Never-before-seen peculiar photography

WRITE A REVIEW

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Hollow City
 
5.0

(based on 3 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (3)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Deserves multiple readings (3)
  • Engaging characters (3)
  • Well written (3)

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

  • Gift (3)

Reviewed by 3 customers

Displaying reviews 1-3

Back to top

 
5.0

Loved These series!

By 

from Sydney

About Me Bookworm

Pros

  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Easy To Read
  • Engaging characters
  • Informative
  • Page-Turner
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Travel Reading
    • Younger Readers

    Comments about Hollow City:

    I loved all 3 of these books. I found myself hooked on book 1. "Hollow city" didn't disappoint, I still found myself staying up to read more and couldn't wait to read book 3. Always something surprises you or something you don't see coming. The only thing I didn't like was the movie, the book is always better!

     
    5.0

    I love this book I would recommend this.

    By 

    from Bradbury NSW Australia

    About Me Bookworm

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Deserves Multiple Readings
    • Engaging Characters
    • Page Turner
    • Suspenseful
    • Well Written

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Gift

      Comments about Hollow City:

      I love the story it's very interesting and descriptive and characters are great.

      (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

       
      5.0

      Another great read

      By 

      from Leschenault WA

      About Me Casual Reader

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Deserves Multiple Readings
      • Engaging Characters
      • Page Turner
      • Suspenseful
      • Well Written

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Gift
        • Older Readers
        • Reference
        • Travel Reading
        • Younger Readers

        Comments about Hollow City:

        An excellent read and fantastic story

        Displaying reviews 1-3

        Back to top

        -I was blown away...Hollow City is fantastic.---USAToday.com -A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first.---Hypable -Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow -peculiars- as they travel through time to war-torn London.---Dan Kois, Slate -A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness.---PopMatters -A stunning achievement... Hollow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.---Boston Globe -What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions.---Virginian-Pilot -Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more.---Shelf Awareness for Readers -A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...peculiar.---Kirkus Reviews -New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends.---School Library Journal -Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style.---Library Journal Xpress Review -Fans will be thrilled to know that the sequel to Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is as hauntingly sinister as the first and is unequivocally worth the wait. It's a rare sequel that improves on the series' beginning... A must-read!- --RT Book Reviews -A great big jolt of fun.---LitReactor -Fans will be pleased with this second volume and downright delighted to know that a third in the series is in the offering.---BooklistPraise for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children -A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story.---John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns -Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.---CNN -Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story.---Associated Press -I read all of the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children books and I loved them.---Florence of Florence + The Machine -[A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs.---USA Today Pop Candy -With its X-Men: First Class-meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it's no wonder Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+---Entertainment Weekly -Peculiar' doesn't even begin to cover it. Riggs' chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies.---People -You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself.---Seventeen -This peculiar parable is pure perfection.---Justine magazine -One of the coolest, creepiest YA books.---PopSugar -It's an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters.---Publishers Weekly -An original work that defies categorization, this first novel should appeal to readers who like quirky fantasies. Riggs includes many vintage photographs that add a critical touch of the peculiar to his unusual tale.---Library Journal -Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children is a wonderfully original and inventive book with colorful characters, a mysterious tale woven together with threads of historical relevance, and incorporating unforgettable vintage photographs which bring the story to life.---Geeks of Doom -Brace yourself for the last 70 pages of relentless, squirm-in-your-chair action. I loved every minute of it.---Cleveland Plain Dealer -Hands down, this is one of the best books of recent years...both creepy and terrifyingly delicious.---Forces of Geek -Though technically a children's book, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is more Grimm's than Disney, and Riggs images, dropped like bread crumbs, could lead audiences of any age happily down the path of its spellbinding tale.---Florida Times-Union -In a time when so much summer entertainment seems to be more of the same, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a pleasant surprise--a story that is fresh and new, engrosses and grips, and provides enough clues so that the ending makes sense and seems thoughtful.- --PopMatters -A twisting tale of phenomenal children, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a book that both children and adults will love.---Romper

        ISBN: 9781594747359
        ISBN-10: 1594747350
        Series: Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children
        Audience: General
        For Ages: 14+ years old
        For Grades: 9+
        Format: Paperback
        Language: English
        Number Of Pages: 416
        Published: 24th February 2015
        Publisher: Quirk Books
        Country of Publication: US
        Dimensions (cm): 20.6 x 13.2  x 2.4
        Weight (kg): 0.45
        Edition Number: 1