+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Young Lion : Birth of the Plantagenets : Birth of the Plantagenets : Book 1 - Blanche d'Alpuget

Young Lion : Birth of the Plantagenets

Birth of the Plantagenets : Book 1

Paperback Published: 1st December 2018
ISBN: 9781925384758
Number Of Pages: 432

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $32.99
$25.90
21%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

The first book in the Birth of the Plantagenets series is sumptuous, rich historical fiction for fans of Wolf Hall and Game of Thrones.

Queen Eleanor of France, said to be the most beautiful woman in Europe, has not been able to give birth to an heir. A strategic liaison with Geoffrey the Handsome, the virile and charming Duke of Normandy, could remedy that - or lead to her downfall and Geoffrey's death.

What begins with cool calculation becomes a passionate affair. Despite his love for Eleanor, however, Geoffrey has larger plans: to help his warrior son, Henry, seize the English throne.

When Henry saves his father from discovery and execution by the French, he falls foul of Eleanor - and madly in love with her Byzantine maid. Should he become King of England, however, this dazzling woman will never be acceptable as his queen.

These intertwined relationships - heated, forbidden and perilous - are the heart of a vivid story of ambition, vengeance and political intrigue set in the glorious flowering of troubadour culture, mysticism and learning that is twelfth-century France.

About the Author

Blanche d’Alpuget is an acclaimed novelist, biographer and essayist. She has won numerous literary awards, including the inaugural Australasian Prize for Commonwealth Literature in 1987. Her books include Mediator: A Biography of Sir Richard Kirby (1977); Monkeys in the Dark (1980), which won the PEN Jubilee Award; Turtle Beach (1981), which won The Age Novel of the Year Award and the South Australian Premier’s Award; Robert J. Hawke: A Biography (1982), which won the New South Wales Premier’s Award; Winter in Jerusalem (1986); and White Eye (1993). She has twice won the Braille Book of the Year award, and Turtle Beach was made into a feature film in 1992 featuring Greta Scacchi and Jack Thompson. All her novels have been translated into other languages.

ISBN: 9781925384758
ISBN-10: 1925384756
Series: Birth of the Plantagenets
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 432
Published: 1st December 2018
Publisher: Ventura Press
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 23.5 x 15.5  x 3.2
Weight (kg): 0.53

This product is categorised by