+612 9045 4394
Winter : (Seasons Quartet 2) - Karl Ove Knausgaard


(Seasons Quartet 2)


Published: 13th November 2017
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $35.00

eBook View Product

Published: 2nd November 2017
Format: ePUB

The second volume in his autobiographical quartet based on the seasons, Winter is an achingly beautiful collection of daily meditations and letters addressed directly to Knaugsaard's unborn daughter

It is strange that you exist, but you don’t know anything about what the world looks like. It’s strange that there is a first time to see the sky, a first time to see the sun, a first time to feel the air against one’s skin. It’s strange that there is a first time to see a face, a tree, a lamp, pyjamas, a shoe. In my life that almost never happens anymore. But soon it will. In just a few months, I will see you for the first time.

In Winter, we rejoin the great Karl Ove Knausgaard as the birth of his daughter draws near. In preparation for her arrival, he takes stock of the world, seeing it anew. While new life is on the horizon, the earth is also in hibernation, waiting for the warmer weather to return. In his inimitably sensitive style, he writes about everything from the moon, winter boots and messiness, to owls and birthdays. Taking nothing for granted, he fills these everyday familiar objects and ideas with new meaning.

Startling, compassionate, and exquisitely beautiful, Knausgaard's writing is like nothing else. Somehow, he shows the world as it really is, at once mundane and sublime.

"The second volume of his autobiographical quartet based on the seasons is even more beautiful than the first... Hauntingly translated by Ingvild Burkey, Winter will reward every curious reader. Insightful, giddy and full of energy, Knausgaard's memoir throbs with the miraculous imminence of new life and the thrill of just being." * The Economist 1843 *
"When Knausgaard exposes himself in the manner of his autobiographical novel My Struggle... it's interesting enough. But he becomes more charming and persuasive when he wanders into quizzical speculation - about, say, why coffins don't have windows or how sex is like cannibalism." -- Anthony Cummins * Observer *
"The author casts the world in a holy glow of surprise and compassion... A winningly interior journey into the most interior of seasons." * Starred Kirkus review *
"It sounds mad, and often is, but it's also sweet, funny and brimful of wide-eyed seasonal wonder." -- Anthony Cummins * Metro *

Karl Ove Knausgaard

Karl Ove Knausgaard's first novel, Out of the World , was the first ever debut novel to win The Norwegian Critics' Prize. His second novel, A Time to Every Purpose Under Heaven , was widely acclaimed. A Death in the Family the first instalment in the epic My Struggle cycle, was awarded the prestigious Brage Award and is being heralded as a masterpiece wherever it appears.

Visit Karl Ove Knausgaard's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9781910701652
ISBN-10: 1910701653
Series: Seasons Quartet
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 272
Published: 13th November 2017
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.3 x 14.1  x 2.7
Weight (kg): 0.59