+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
White Coat - Ellen Lerner Rothman

Paperback

Published: 26th April 2000
For Ages: 8+ years old
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $29.99
$27.75
if ordered within

"White Coat" is Dr. Ellen Lerner Rothman's vivid account of her four years at Harvard Medical School. Describing the grueling hours and emotional hurdles she underwent to earn the degree of M.D., Dr. Rothman tells the story of one woman's transformation from a terrified first-year medical studen into a confident, competent doctor.

Touching on the most relevant issues in medicine today--such as HMOs, aIDS, and assisted suicide--Dr. Rothman recounts her despair and exhilaration as a medical student, from the stress of exams to th hard-won rewards that came from treating patients.

The anecdotes in "White Coat" are funny, heartbreaking, and at times horrifying. Each chapter taes us deeper into Dr. Rothman's medical school experience, illuminating her struggle to walk the line between too much and not enough intimacy with her patients. For readers of Perri Klass and Richard Selzer, Dr. Rothman looks candidly at medicine and presents an unvarnished perspective on a subject that matters to us all. "White Coat" opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor in a book that will change the way we look at our medical establishment.In "White Coat, " Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues -- such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide -- the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives.

With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences -- from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat.

For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of "ER," "White Coat" is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

In "White Coat, " Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues -- such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide -- the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives.

With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences -- from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat.

For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of "ER," "White Coat" is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

"A medical student's thoughtful and revealing chronicle of growing into the white coat of a doctor . . . told with clarity, candor, and grace."--"Kirkus Reviews""Rothman, whose interest in medical ethics led her to medical school, possesses a journalist's eye for detail and makes engrossing reading of even the most mundane tasks associated with medical training. She also lets us follow her romance with a fellow student, adding another dimension to this unflinching look at the healing profession."--"Chicago Tribune"

White Coatp. 1
First Year
Arriving at Harvardp. 7
Anatomy Labp. 19
ERp. 24
Taking a Sexual Historyp. 27
Great Expectationsp. 32
Hospicep. 38
Second Year
Healing Touchp. 47
First Examp. 55
Namingp. 60
A Conflict of Valuesp. 64
The Pelvicp. 69
Relationshipsp. 78
The Showp. 82
Boardsp. 87
The Horror, the Horrorp. 91
Traumap. 95
Loss of Languagep. 99
On My Wayp. 105
The Clinical Years
Surgeryp. 115
Proceduresp. 126
Difficult Patientsp. 134
Too Muchp. 154
Obstetrics and Gynecologyp. 168
The TABsp. 176
Misery on the Wardsp. 189
Pediatricsp. 199
Jamiep. 204
AIDSp. 214
Internal Medicinep. 227
Tigerp. 233
Desperationp. 256
Relationships Reprisep. 260
The Birdmanp. 268
Psychiatryp. 276
Jessicap. 282
The Power of a Questionp. 299
Hazardp. 309
ER Reprisep. 315
Graduationp. 330
Table of Contents provided by Syndetics. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780688175894
ISBN-10: 0688175899
Audience: General
For Ages: 8+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 26th April 2000
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.37 x 13.44  x 2.13
Weight (kg): 0.29