+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
When Breath Becomes Air : What makes life worth living in the face of death - Paul Kalanithi

When Breath Becomes Air

What makes life worth living in the face of death

Paperback

Published: 1st January 2017
Ships: 5 to 9 business days
5 to 9 business days
RRP $19.99
$16.80
16%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 4th February 2016
Format: ePUB
$12.99

For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

THE NEW YORK TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live.

When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a medical student asking what makes a virtuous and meaningful life into a neurosurgeon working in the core of human identity – the brain – and finally into a patient and a new father.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when when life is catastrophically interrupted? What does it mean to have a child as your own life fades away?

Paul Kalanithi died while working on this profoundly moving book, yet his words live on as a guide to us all. When Breath Becomes Air is a life-affirming reflection on facing our mortality and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a gifted writer who became both.

About the Author

Paul Kalanithi was a neurosurgeon and writer. He held degrees in English literature, human biology, and history and philoso­phy of science and medicine from Stanford and Cambridge universities before graduating from Yale School of Medicine. He also received the American Academy of Neu­rological Surgery’s highest award for research.

His reflections on doctoring and illness have been published in the New York Times, the Washington Post and the Paris Review Daily.

Kalanithi died in March 2015, aged 37. He is survived by his wife, Lucy, and their daughter, Elizabeth Acadia.

WRITE A REVIEW

Incredible! I recommend it to everyone

5

Beautifully written. Just an amazing read for anyone- medical or not

Sydney, Australia

true

An absolute must read

5

A pity the writer hadn't written earlier in his career. Some medical terms were confusing at times but when I finished this book had just about used a box of tissues but still felt enlightened by the context

Victoria, Australia

true

Page turner

5

A thrilling story of hope, triumph, academia and loss. A beautifully written story.

Victoria, Australia

true

:)

4

:)

Aus, VIC

true

Highly Recommended

5

I have already shared this book with two friends, who agree with my comments. Couldn't put it down, and sorry to turn the last page.

Toowoomba, Queensland

true

A must read incite into how doctors try to cope with death

4

Great incite into both sides of the fence doctor/patient

Australia

true

Exquisite

5

This book is amazing. It's a must read.

Newie

true

Honest, vulnerable, brilliant!

5

A simple, heartfelt account of the shortness of life.

Victoria, Australia

true

Bought this for my Book Club

5

I found myself racing through this book to see how the story unfolded and how it was finished after Paul's death. I will revisit it to savour more in the near future.

Sydney Australia

true

Tragic story but not a well written book.

1

The story is tragic & uplifting and admirable, written as it was under very difficult circumstances, but I was not surprised to read that it was put together from notes the author had jotted down as his condition had deteriorated.

Malua Bay, Australia

false

34988033

4.3 12

91.7

"A vital book about dying. Awe-inspiring and exquisite. Obligatory reading for the living." -- Nigella Lawson
"Rattling. Heartbreaking. Beautiful." -- Atul Gawande, author of BEING MORTAL
"A great, indelible book ... as intimate and illuminating as Atul Gawande's "Being Mortal," to cite only one recent example of a doctor's book that has had exceptionally wide appeal ... I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option ... gripping from the start ... None of it is maudlin. Nothing is exaggerated. As he wrote to a friend: "It's just tragic enough and just imaginable enough." And just important enough to be unmissable." * New York Times *
"Powerful and poignant." * The Sunday Times *
"Less a memoir than a reflection on life and purpose... A vital book." * The Economist *
"Extraordinary...Remarkable... luminous, revelatory memoir about mortality and what makes being alive meaningful ... Lyrical, intimate, insistent and profound. Kalanithi had the mind of the polymath and the ear of a poet." -- Heather Hodson * Daily Telegraph *
"Powerful and poignant... Elegantly written posthumous memoir... Should be compulsory for anyone who intends to be a doctor... A profound reflection on the meaning of life." -- Daisy Goodwin * Sunday Times *
"A stark, fascinating, well-written and heroic memoir." -- Stefanie Marsh * The Times *
"The power of this book lies in its eloquent insistence that we are all confronting our mortality every day, whether we know it or not. The real question we face, Kalanithi writes, is not how long, but rather how, we will live - and the answer does not appear in any medical textbook." -- Alice Okeeffe * Guardian *
"Exceptional." -- Katie Law * Evening Standard *
"When I came to the end of the last flawless paragraph of When Breath Becomes Air, all I could do was turn to the first page and read the whole thing again. Searingly intelligent, beautifully written, and beyond brave, I haven't been so marked by a book in years." -- Gabriel Weston, author of DIRECT RED
"A tremendous book, crackling with life, animated by wonder and by the question of how we should live. Paul Kalanithi lived and died in the pursuit of excellence, and by this testimonial, he achieved it." -- Gavin Francis, author of Adventures in Human Being
"A remarkable book... Kalanithi writes very well, in a plain and matter-of-fact way, without a trace of self-pity, and you are immediately gripped and carried along... [He] was clearly a deeply thoughtful and compassionate man, and his death is a great loss to medicine, but at least he has left this remarkable book behind." -- Dr Henry Marsh * Observer *
"A meditation on what makes a life worth living." * Guardian *
"It turns out not really to be about dying at all but about life and how to live it - though the closeness of death gives it an urgency and economy... When Breath Becomes Air is a Renaissance book from a Renaissance man. It is a work of philosophy and morality, a reconciliation of science and religion. There is even plot and excitement... It was only with the restrained, elegant epilogue written by his wife Lucy Kalanithi that I found myself weeping helplessly... When Breath Becomes Air tells us what means to live a good life, by giving us a glimpse into an exceptional one." -- Lucy Kellaway * Financial Times *
"A powerful and compelling read." * The Economist, Book of the Year *
"An astonishingly affecting memoir and eloquent examination of what it is to be human and confront your own mortality... This is a remarkable book by a man who was driven by his passion for his life, his loves and his career. His death is undoubtedly a tragedy but in writing this memoir he has guaranteed that his voice and the important story it tells will resonate for years to come." -- Mernie Gilmore * Daily Express *
"As thought-provoking as it was moving. The sheer exuberance of Kalnithi's intellectual curiosity shone through in his writing." -- Katie Law * Evening Standard, Book of the Year *
"Dr Kalanithi describes, clearly and simply, and entirely without self-pity, his journey from innocent medical student to professionally detached and all-powerful neurosurgeon to helpless patient, dying from cancer. He learns lessons about the reality of illness and the doctor-patient relationship that most doctors only learn in old age but Paul Kalanithi died at the tragically early age of 37.

Every doctor should read this book - written by a member of our own tribe, it helps us understand and overcome the barriers we all erect between ourselves and our patients as soon as we are out of medical school" -- Henry Marsh, author of Do No Harm
"To the venerable canon of doctors who could write (from Chekhov to Oliver Sacks and Atul Gawande), another name can be added: that of Paul Kalanithi... Brilliantly written." -- Louise Carpenter * Sunday Telegraph *

ISBN: 9781784701994
ISBN-10: 1784701998
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 288
Published: 1st January 2017
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 13.0 x 19.7  x 1.7
Weight (kg): 0.18
Edition Number: 1