+612 9045 4394
Welcome to the Monkey House/Palm Sunday : An Autobiographical Collage - Kurt Vonnegut

Welcome to the Monkey House/Palm Sunday

An Autobiographical Collage

Paperback Published: 21st July 1994
ISBN: 9780099387817
Number Of Pages: 656

Share This Book:
Ships in 15 business days

A diabolical government asserts control by eliminating orgasms from sex in the title story of Welcome to the Monkey House setting the tone for a collection shot through with Vonnegut's acrid wit, and his bewilderment at the corruption of humanity. From riffs on country music, George Bush, and his mother s midnight mania, to a bittersweet tribute to a dead friend, Palm Sunday demonstrates why Kurt Vonnegut is equally well known as an essayist and commentator as he is a novelist. This caustic, funny and poignant collection resonates with Vonnegut s singular voice.

Industry Reviews

"Vonnegut's sharp wit and intellect are tempered but not blunted by his honesty and humanity" * Independent * "These taut, concise stories show us the roots of a great Rube Goldberg literary career" * Los Angeles Times * "Wonderfully wicked" * Washington Post * "Twisted, funny, sci-fi and high-concept. It's a great, great book" -- Rebecca Romijin-Stamos * Independent * "A brilliant wacky ideas-monger" * Observer *

ISBN: 9780099387817
ISBN-10: 0099387816
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 656
Published: 21st July 1994
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 13.0  x 4.2
Weight (kg): 0.48
Edition Number: 1

Kurt Vonnegut

About the Author

Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922. He studied at the universities of Chicago and Tennessee and later began to write short stories for magazines. His first novel, Player Piano, was published in 1951 and since then he has written many novels, among them: The Sirens of Titan (1959), Mother Night (1961), Cat's Cradle (1963), God Bless You Mr Rosewater (1964), Welcome to the Monkey House ; a collection of short stories (1968), Breakfast of Champions (1973), Slapstick , or Lonesome No More (1976), Jailbird (1979), Deadeye Dick (1982), Galapagos (1985), Bluebeard (1988) and Hocus Pocus (1990). During the Second World War he was held prisoner in Germany and was present at the bombing of Dresden, an experience which provided the setting for his most famous work to date, Slaughterhouse Five (1969). He has also published a volume of autobiography entitled Palm Sunday (1981) and a collection of essays and speeches, Fates Worse Than Death (1991).

Visit Kurt Vonnegut's Booktopia Author Page