+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
We Shall Inherit the Wind : Varg Veum - Gunnar Staalesen

We Shall Inherit the Wind

Varg Veum

Paperback Published: 31st July 2018
ISBN: 9781910633076
Number Of Pages: 300

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 37 Qantas Points
on this Book

1998. Varg Veum sits by the hospital bedside of his long-term girlfriend Karin, whose life-threatening injuries provide a deeply painful reminder of the mistakes he’s made. Investigating the seemingly innocent disappearance of a wind-farm inspector, Varg Veum is thrust into one of the most challenging cases of his career, riddled with conflicts, environmental terrorism, religious fanaticism, unsolved mysteries and dubious business ethics. Then, in one of the most heart-stopping scenes in crime fiction, the first body appears…
A chilling, timeless story of love, revenge and desire, We Shall Inherit the Wind deftly weaves contemporary issues with a stunning plot that will leave you gripped to the final page. This is Staalesen at his most thrilling, thought-provoking best.


'The Varg Veum series is more concerned with character and motivation than spectacle, and it’s in the quieter scenes that the real drama lies.’ Herald Scotland

’Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors and this is a series with very sharp teeth’ Ian Rankin

‘A Norwegian Chandler’ Jo Nesbo

‘Gunnar Staalesen was writing suspenseful and socially conscious Nordic Noir long before any of today's Swedish crime writers had managed to put together a single book page … one of Norway's most skillful storytellers’ Johan Theorin

‘Razor-edged Scandinavian crime fiction at its finest’ Quentin Bates

‘Not many books hook you in the first chapter – this one did, and never let go!’ Mari Hannah

Industry Reviews

'The characters in the book are drawn with more nuances and more psychological insight than in most crime novels - there is generally something Ibsenian about this detective novel in which past sins play such an important part in the present' Bergens Tidende 'The Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo 'One of the finest Nordic novelists in the tradition of Henning Mankell' Barry Forshaw, Independent 'Staalesen's mastery of pacing enables him to develop his characters in a leisurely way without sacrificing tension and suspense' Publishers Weekly

ISBN: 9781910633076
ISBN-10: 1910633070
Series: Varg Veum
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 300
Published: 31st July 2018
Publisher: Orenda Books
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.6 x 12.8  x 2.1
Weight (kg): 0.26
Edition Number: 1

Earn 37 Qantas Points
on this Book