+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
We Hunt the Flame - Hafsah Faizal

Paperback Published: 14th May 2019
ISBN: 9780374313647
Number Of Pages: 480

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $18.99
$16.75
12%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 34 Qantas Points
on this Book

Zafira is the Hunter, disguising herself as a man to brave the cursed forest of the Arz to feed her people. Nasir is the Prince of Death, assassinating those foolish enough to defy his autocratic father, the king. If Zafira was exposed as a girl, her achievements would be rejected; if Nasir displayed compassion, his father would brutally punish him.

War is brewing in Arawiya, and when Zafira embarks on a quest to uncover an artifact that can restore magic and stop the Arz, Nasir is sent by the king on a similar mission: retrieve the artifact and kill the Hunter. But an ancient evil stirs-and the prize they seek poses a threat greater than either can imagine. Set in a rich world inspired by ancient Arabia, We Hunt the Flame is a story of conquering fear and taking identity into your own hands.

About the Author

Hafsah Faizal is an American Muslim and brand designer. She's the founder of IceyDesigns, where she creates websites for authors and beauteous goodies for everyone else. When she's not writing, she can be found dreaming up her next design, deciding between Assassin's Creed and Skyrim, or traversing the world.

Born in Florida and raised in California, she now resides in Texas with her family and a library of books waiting to be devoured. We Hunt the Flame is her first novel.

hafsahfaizal.com

Industry Reviews

"Drawing inspiration from ancient Arabia, We Hunt the Flame gives exquisitely detailed insight into a cultural experience; this debut, about identity and unlikely allies, features subtly nuanced and deeply reflective characters. Layering high-stakes action with moods ranging from casual humor to raw anguish, Faizal bends fantasy tropes to her will to tell a fresh and gripping story about love, honor, and self-discovery that will leave readers scrambling for more."
Booklist (starred review)

"Faizal matches a sweeping, ancient Arabian setting of shifting sand dunes, crumbling ruins, and fickle magic with an engrossing tale of political intrigue and human and divine warring powers. That sense of epicness, however, is carefully grounded by her deeply flawed, morally conflicted, and endlessly fascinating characters; as individuals, they are each interesting, but it's the developing dynamic among the group that is truly compelling. . .Fans of Bardugo's Six of Crows or Chokshi's The Star-Touched Queen will be thrilled with the book's impressive world building, stellar cast, and intricate story."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)

ISBN: 9780374313647
ISBN-10: 0374313644
Audience: Children
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 480
Published: 14th May 2019
Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux Inc
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 22.8 x 14.6  x 3.2
Weight (kg): 0.51

Earn 34 Qantas Points
on this Book