+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Watch Us Rise - Renee Watson

Paperback Published: 4th March 2019
ISBN: 9781526600868
Number Of Pages: 400

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $15.99
$13.75
14%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 28 Qantas Points
on this Book

A stirring and unputdownable read about what it means to be a woman today. Perfect for fans of Moxie and The Hate U Give.

Jasmine and Chelsea are best friends on a mission. Sick of the way that young women are treated even at their 'progressive' New York City high school, they decide to start a Women's Rights Club. One problem - no one shows up. That hardly stops them. They start posting everything from videos of Chelsea performing her poetry to Jasmine's response to being reduced to a racist and sexist stereotype in the school's theatre department. And soon, they've gone viral, creating a platform they never could've predicted.

With such positive support, the Women's Rights Club is also targeted by trolls. But Jasmine and Chelsea won't let their voices - or those of the other young women in their city - be silenced. They'll risk everything to be heard and effect change ... but at what cost?

About the Author

Renée Watson is the New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor, and Coretta Scott King Award-winning author of Piecing Me Together, This Side of Home, What Momma Left Me, and Betty Before X, co-written with Ilyasah Shabazz, as well as two acclaimed picture books: A Place Where Hurricanes Happen and Harlem's Little Blackbird, which was nominated for an NAACP Image Award. She is the founder of I, Too, Arts Collective, a nonprofit committed to nurturing underrepresented voices in the creative arts, and currently lives in New York City.

Industry Reviews

Praise for Piecing Me Together:

“An important and deeply moving novel. Highly recommended”
John Green

“Timely and timeless, Piecing Me Together is a book about the ways young people deal with the hardships and heartbreak of everyday living while remaining whole and true to themselves”
Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award winning author of Brown Girl Dreaming

"Watson, with rhythm and style, somehow gets at the toxicity of sympathy, the unquenchable thirst of fear, and the life-changing power of voice and opportunity, all wrapped up in Jade”
Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling and award-winning coauthor of All American Boys

“A timely, nuanced and unforgettable story about the power of art, community and friendship”
starred review, Kirkus Reviews

ISBN: 9781526600868
ISBN-10: 1526600862
Audience: BCH
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 4th March 2019
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.5 x 13.0  x 2.7
Weight (kg): 0.26
Edition Number: 1

Earn 28 Qantas Points
on this Book