+612 9045 4394
Voices from Chernobyl : Lannan Selection - Svetlana Alexievich

Voices from Chernobyl

Lannan Selection

By: Svetlana Alexievich, Keith Gessen (Translator)

Paperback Published: 31st July 2019
ISBN: 9781628973303
Number Of Pages: 240

Share This Book:


RRP $39.95
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 58 Qantas Points
on this Book

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award
Winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature

A journalist by trade, who now suffers from an immune deficiency developed while researching this book, presents personal accounts of what happened to the people of Belarus after the nuclear reactor accident in 1986, and the fear, anger, and uncertainty that they still live with.

On April 26, 1986, the worst nuclear reactor accident in history occurred in Chernobyl and contaminated as much as three quarters of Europe. Voices from Chernobyl is the first book to present personal accounts of the tragedy. Journalist Svetlana Alexievich interviewed hundreds of people affected by the meltdown---from innocent citizens to firefighters to those called in to clean up the disaster---and their stories reveal the fear, anger, and uncertainty with which they still live. Comprised of interviews in monologue form, Voices from Chernobyl is a crucially important work, unforgettable in its emotional power and honesty.

The Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Svetlana Alexievich "for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time."

ISBN: 9781628973303
ISBN-10: 1628973307
Series: Lannan Selection
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 240
Published: 31st July 2019
Dimensions (cm): 22.35 x 14.99  x 1.78
Weight (kg): 0.41

Earn 58 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by