+612 9045 4394
Vivaldi : Master Musicians Series - Michael Talbot


Master Musicians Series

Paperback Published: 1st January 1996
ISBN: 9780198164975
Number Of Pages: 256

Share This Book:
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Celebrating its 100th anniversary, this extraordinary series continues to amaze and captivate its readers with detailed insight into the lives and work of music's geniuses. Unlike other composer biographies that focus narrowly on the music, this series explores the personal history of each composer and the social context surrounding the music. In a precise, engaging, and authoritative manner, each volume combines a vivid portrait of the master musicians' inspirations, influences, life experiences, even their weaknesses, with an accessible discussion of their work-all in roughly 300 pages. Further, each volume offers superb reference material, including a detailed life and times chronology, a complete list of works, a personalia glossary highlighting the important people in the composer's life, and a select bibliography. Under the supervision of music expert and series general editor Stanley Sadie, Master Musicians will certainly proceed to delight music scholars, serious musicians, and all music lovers for another hundred years.

Industry Reviews

"A very well balanced, closely researched 'life and works' of Vivaldi."--The Literary Review

'A most enlightening introduction to the subject of the 'Red Priest.'"--Early Music

Preface to the 1993 edition
The path to rediscoveryp. 1
Venicep. 11
The Red-haired priestp. 26
Years of travelp. 48
Vivaldi's musical stylep. 73
The instrumental musicp. 94
Sonatasp. 94
Concertosp. 106
The vocal musicp. 130
Cantatasp. 136
Serenatasp. 138
Operasp. 139
Sacred vocal musicp. 150
Notes to the revised editionp. 161
App. A: Calendarp. 174
App. B: Catalogue of worksp. 180
App. C: Personaliap. 203
App. D: Bibliographyp. 212
App. E: Index to individual works and published collections by Vivaldi mentioned in the textp. 221
App. F: Concordance table of Pincherle (P.) and Ryom (RV) numbersp. 224
Indexp. 229
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780198164975
ISBN-10: 0198164971
Series: Master Musicians Series
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 256
Published: 1st January 1996
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 23.39 x 15.6  x 1.4
Weight (kg): 0.45
Edition Number: 2