+612 9045 4394
Vaughan Williams Studies : Cambridge Composer Studies - Alain Frogley

Vaughan Williams Studies

Cambridge Composer Studies

Hardcover Published: 28th January 1997
ISBN: 9780521480314
Number Of Pages: 260

Share This Book:


or 4 easy payments of $67.34 with Learn more
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Despite Vaughan Williams' seminal importance in British music, international stature as a symphonist, and wider significance as an icon of Englishness, very little new research on his life or music has been published since the mid-1960s. The ten essays presented here examine diverse subjects such as the place of Vaughan Williams in the construction of English national identity in this century, the role of rhythm in his symphonies, music for propaganda films, and his unpublished early orchestral pieces; major works such as the Tallis Fantasia and the Fifth Symphony are analyzed in depth.

From the hardback review: '... These ten substantial chapters offer insights into Vaughan Williams as both man and musician. As a collection of essays this is a random rather than a balanced survey, though nonetheless welcome in discussing important issues in depth. The standard of presentation is high, with clear musical examples enhancing detailed analyses of the Tallis Fantasia and Fifth Symphony.' Terry Barfoot, BBC Music Magazine

Constructing Englishness in music: national character and the reception of Ralph Vaughan Williams
Coming of age: the earliest orchestral music of Ralph Vaughan Williams
Vaughan Williams, Tallis and the Phantasy principle
Vaughan Williams, Germany, and the German tradition: a view from the letters
Scripture, Church, and culture: biblical texts in the works of Ralph Vaughan
Vaughan Williams's folksong transcriptions: a case of idealization
Vaughan Williams and British wartime cinema
Rhythm in the symphonies: a preliminary investigation
'Symphony in D major': models and mutations
The place of the Eighth among Vaughan Williams's symphonies
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521480314
ISBN-10: 0521480310
Series: Cambridge Composer Studies
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 260
Published: 28th January 1997
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.8 x 15.2  x 1.6
Weight (kg): 0.54

This product is categorised by