+612 9045 4394
Tragedies Volume 1 : Contains Hamlet,Macbeth,King LearJACKET LO D1H - William Shakespeare

Tragedies Volume 1

Contains Hamlet,Macbeth,King LearJACKET LO D1H

Hardcover Published: 29th October 1992
ISBN: 9781857150926
Number Of Pages: 540

Share This Book:


RRP $44.99
Ships in 15 business days

(Book Jacket Status: Jacketed) Shakespeare's four greatest tragedies were written in a remarkably short period of time, between 1598 and 1606. "Hamlet," "Othello," "Macbeth," and "King Lear" are each so singular an achievement that any rereading of them reinforces the awe and almost idolatrous worship that this most uncanny of the world's great writers invariably inspires. In these four plays, Shakespeare engages the problem that is central to tragedy and crucial to any human community--the problem of violence and revenge--on an unprecedented scale. No other literary texts have been more instrumental in deepening our knowledge of ourselves as individuals and as a civilization. This authoritative edition of the plays is supplemented with footnotes, bibliographies, a detailed chronology of Shakespeare's life and times, and a substantial introduction in which Tony Tanner discusses each play individually while setting each in context.

ISBN: 9781857150926
ISBN-10: 1857150929
Series: Everyman Signet Shakespeare
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 540
Published: 29th October 1992
Publisher: Everyman
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 20.8 x 13.1  x 3.7
Weight (kg): 0.7
Edition Number: 1