Add free shipping to your order with these great books
To Sing of War : The breathtaking new novel from the Miles Franklin Award shortlisted author of Storyland, for readers of Anthony Doerr, Fiona McFarlane and Barbara Kingsolver - Catherine McKinnon

To Sing of War

The breathtaking new novel from the Miles Franklin Award shortlisted author of Storyland, for readers of Anthony Doerr, Fiona McFarlane and Barbara Kingsolver

By: Catherine McKinnon

Paperback | 1 May 2024

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%OFF

Expected to ship in at least 4 weeks

From the author of the Miles Franklin Award shortlisted Storyland, comes a rich, layered and thrilling novel of love, war and friendship, To Sing of War.

DECEMBER 1944 In New Guinea, a young Australian nurse, Lotte Wyld, chances upon her first love, Virgil Nicholson, a soldier in the Allies' hard-fought jungle campaign. At Los Alamos in the United States, idealistic physicists Miriam Carver and Fred Johnson join Robert Oppenheimer and a team of brilliant scientists in a collective dream to build a weapon that will stop all war, while Kitty Oppenheimer wrestles with restrictions on her freedom. And on the sacred island of Miyajima in Japan, Hiroko Narushima is doing her best to protect her family.

Each of these people yearns to belong, yet each fiercely protects their independence. Secrets, misunderstandings and fears burden them; shame shapes them; hope and imagination lift them up. They are caught in a moment of history, both enthralled and appalled by actions they must undertake.

A beautiful, rich and intricately woven novel, To Sing of War asks how one person can make a difference in a world that is wondrous, thrilling and endangered. It insists on our interconnectedness, hums with the energy of the world and is a blazingly powerful and deeply moving account of friendship, love and war.

About the Author

Catherine McKinnon lives in the Southern Highlands on Gundungurra land with her husband, painter and sculptor Gary Christian. She teaches creative writing at the University of Wollongong. Her novel Storyland (Fourth Estate, 2017) was shortlisted for five literary awards including, in 2018, the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the Barbara Jefferis Award and the Voss Literary Prize. Merrigong Theatre has commissioned an adaption of the novel, to be co-written by Catherine and Aunty Barb Nicholson. Catherine is one of the authors of 100 Atmospheres: Studies in Scale and Wonder (Open Humanities Press, 2019) and was co-winner of the 2015 competition that selected five novellas for publication in Griffith Review 50: Tall Tales Short - The Novella Project 111. Her first novel, The Nearly Happy Family, was published by Penguin in 2008.

Her plays have been produced nationally and her short stories, reviews and essays have appeared in Griffith Review, Text Journal, Meanjin, Narrative and the Sydney Morning Herald.
Industry Reviews
'Transcends the boundaries of historical fiction' - Books+Publishing

More in Historical Fiction

Psykhe - Kate Forsyth

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Hazelbourne Ladies Motorcycle and Flying Club - Helen Simonson
Mary I : Queen of Sorrows - Alison Weir

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Juice : The New Novel - Tim Winton

RRP $49.99

$38.75

22%
OFF
Imperial Harvest - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
By Any Other Name - Jodi Picoult

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Beauties - Lauren Chater

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Bass Rock : Winner of the 2021 Stella Prize - Evie Wyld

RRP $22.99

$12.95

44%
OFF
The Pearl Sister : The Seven Sisters: Book 4 - Lucinda Riley

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Quiet American : Vintage Greene - Graham Greene

RRP $14.99

$14.25

The Brisbane Line - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $32.99

$29.75

10%
OFF
The Missing Sister - Lucinda Riley

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Sharpe's Command : The New Sharpe Novel - Bernard Cornwell

RRP $32.99

$19.75

40%
OFF
Atlas: The Story of Pa Salt : The Seven Sisters: Book 8 - Lucinda Riley