+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$6.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Things I Should Have Known : A Novel - CLAIRE LEZEBNIK

Things I Should Have Known

A Novel

Paperback Published: 27th March 2018
ISBN: 9781328869340
Number Of Pages: 320
For Ages: 12+ years old

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book

An unforgettable story about autism, sisterhood, and first love that's perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sophie Kinsella, and Sarah Dessen. New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things Julie Buxbaum raved: "I couldn't put it down."

Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who's decided that her older sister, Ivy, who's on the autism spectrum, could use a boyfriend. Chloe already has someone in mind: Ethan Fields, a sweet, movie-obsessed boy from Ivy's special needs class.

Chloe would like to ignore Ethan's brother, David, but she can't - Ivy and Ethan aren't comfortable going out on their own so Chloe and David have to tag along. Soon Chloe, Ivy, David, and Ethan form a quirky and wholly lovable circle. And as the group bonds over frozen yogurt dates and movie nights, Chloe is forced to confront her own romantic choices - and the realisation that it's okay to be a different kind of normal.

About the Author

Claire LaZebnik has written five novels for adults including Same As It Never Was (which was made into the ABC Family movie, Hello Sister, Goodbye Life), Knitting Under the Influence, and Families and Other Non-Returnable Gifts. Her young adult novels include Epic Fail, The Trouble with Flirting, The Last Best Kiss, and Wrong About the Guy (Harper Teen). She has also co-authored two books on autism; Overcoming Autism and Growing Up on the Spectrum.

She has contributed to GQ, Self Magazine, the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal, among other publications, and to the anthology play Motherhood Out Loud. A graduate of Harvard University, she lives with her TV writer husband and four children, one of whom has autism.

Industry Reviews

"More a love story about sisterhood than romantic, it's a story that will illuminate what it's like to live an ordinary teenage life when you have autism."
--Bustle

* "LaZebnik hits it out of the park with her story about pretty, popular Chloe and her loving relationship with her older, autistic sister, Ivy... With perceptiveness and ample skill, LaZebnik paints a vivid picture of what the sibling of a person with high-functioning autism might go through. Never resorting to stereotype, she depicts appealing, three--dimensional characters who flesh out a narrative that is compassionate, tender, funny, and wise all at once. This insightful, well--written story will entertain readers while inspiring meaningful empathy."
--Booklist, starred review

"In this insightful account of misconceptions, family conflict, and the ironies of love, LaZebnik (Wrong About the Guy) examines the evolution of several relationships. . . . Writing with honesty and wit, LaZebnik offers a thought-provoking portrayal of how people can come together despite, or perhaps because of, their differences."
--Publishers Weekly

"An eye-opening look at autism and those it touches."
--Kirkus

"Chloe and her sister are so authentically portrayed, they nearly leap off the page. . . . This story about a girl who upends her own life by trying to help someone else is a winning read for young people ready for a realistic romance about life's challenges."
--School Library Journal

"A charmingly honest, insightful story about love, family, and frozen yogurt. So good you'll finish it in one sitting!"
--Robyn Schneider, author of The Beginning of Everything and Extraordinary Means

"Things I Should Have Known is funny, compassionate, and loving. LaZebnik writes with authority and ease, capturing the complexities of sibling bonds and first love, and crafting characters to root for from start to finish."
--Emma Mills, author of First & Then

"At once romantic and touching, perceptive and honest, Things I Should Have Known is about first love, the bonds of sisterhood, and living your most authentic life. I couldn't put it down."
--Julie Buxbaum, author of Tell Me Three Things

"A fiercely honest and surprising story about family, first love, and the beauty of individuality. LaZebnik reminds us that sometimes the most wonderful things in life are the things you never expected."
--Ashley Blake, author of Suffer Love

ISBN: 9781328869340
ISBN-10: 1328869342
Audience: Children
For Ages: 12+ years old
For Grades: 9+
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 320
Published: 27th March 2018
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.0 x 14.0  x 2.54
Weight (kg): 0.3

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book