Add free shipping to your order with these great books
These Violent Delights - Chloe Gong
Best of #BookTok

These Violent Delights

By: Chloe Gong

Paperback | 16 November 2021 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $17.99

$16.75

Aims to ship in 15 to 18 business days

'Deliciously dark' Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

In glittering Shanghai, a monster awakens . . .

The brilliantly imaginative New York Times bestselling fantasy retelling of Romeo and Juliet set against the immersive backdrop of 1920s Shanghai.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city in the grip of chaos. At its heart is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang - a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette's first love . . . and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns - and grudges - aside and work together, for if they can't stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

Filled with romance, intrigue and betrayal, this heart-stopping debut is perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane.

About the Author

Chloe Gong is a student at the University of Pennsylvania, studying English and international relations. During her breaks, she's either at home in New Zealand or visiting her many relatives in Shanghai. Chloe has been known to mysteriously appear when 'Romeo and Juliet is one of Shakespeare's best plays and doesn't deserve its slander in pop culture' is chanted into a mirror three times.
Industry Reviews
A deliciously dark twist on Romeo and Juliet that feels vibrant, modern, and wholly exciting. Gong's writing brims with energy. I was swept away to her dark Shanghai from the first page and never wanted to leave!

Heady, smart, and vicious, These Violent Delights strikes every note with precision, layering romance and politics into a roaring 20s Shanghai of both monsters and monstrous imperialism

Chloe Gong's These Violent Delights plants a Shakespearean classic in the rich soil of 1920s Shanghai, allowing her characters to grow, flourish, and steal your heart while warring against their own

Gong ensnares readers with a delicious tale of family rivalries and forbidden love all set against the glittering backdrop of 1920s Shanghai. Don't miss this dark and beautiful retelling of Romeo and Juliet!

Full of glitter, suspense and gore, These Violent Delights takes readers into the perilous world of 1926 Shanghai . . . Chloe Gong's debut is a terrific, deliciously unputdownable read!

Gong's debut is not to be missed. With a dazzling setting, a mysterious series of murders, and diverse, unapologetically criminal characters, this novel ranks with the greatest YA retellings

Book Binge TikTok YA

One Of Us Is Lying : TV series on Stan - Now streaming - Karen M McManus
The Sun is Also a Star - Nicola Yoon

RRP $19.99

$16.90

15%
OFF
We Were Liars - E. Lockhart

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

They Both Die at the End : TikTok made me buy it! - Adam Silvera

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
A Curse So Dark and Lonely : Cursebreakers: Book 1 - Brigid Kemmerer
Kingdom of the Wicked : Kingdom of the Wicked: Book 1 - Kerri Maniscalco
Serpent & Dove : TikTok Made Me Buy It! - Shelby Mahurin

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Inheritance Games : The Inheritance Games: Book 1 - Jennifer Lynn Barnes
The Cruel Prince : The Folk of the Air Book 1 - Holly Black
Ace of Spades - Faridah Àbíke-Íyímíde

Paperback

RRP $16.99

$15.80

These Violent Delights - Chloe Gong

RRP $17.99

$16.75

The Wicked King : The Folk of the Air Book 2 - Holly Black
The Wrath and the Dawn : The Wrath and the Dawn : Book 1 - Renee Ahdieh
Anna and the French Kiss - Stephanie Perkins

RRP $19.99

$17.25

14%
OFF
Shadow and Bone : Shadow and Bone: Book 1 - Leigh Bardugo

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Gilded Ones : Gilded - Namina Forna

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Shatter Me : Shatter Me Series : Book 1 - Tahereh Mafi
Dance of Thieves : Dance of Thieves - Mary Pearson
Renegades : Renegades Book 1 - Marissa Meyer

RRP $18.99

$17.40

BookTok Enemies to Lovers

The Night Circus : Vintage Magic - Erin Morgenstern

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
It Happened One Summer : Tik Tok Made Me Buy It - Tessa Bailey

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Red, White & Royal Blue - Casey McQuiston

RRP $26.99

$22.95

15%
OFF
Crier's War : Crier's War - Nina Varela

RRP $19.99

$18.25

A Curse So Dark and Lonely : Cursebreakers: Book 1 - Brigid Kemmerer
Serpent & Dove : TikTok Made Me Buy It! - Shelby Mahurin

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Six of Crows : Six of Crows: Book 1 - Leigh Bardugo

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Crooked Kingdom : Six of Crows: Book 2 - Leigh Bardugo

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Cruel Prince : The Folk of the Air Book 1 - Holly Black
A Court of Thorns and Roses : A Court of Thorns and Roses Book 1 - Sarah J. Maas
These Violent Delights - Chloe Gong

RRP $17.99

$16.75

The Unhoneymooners : Books of Babel - Christina Lauren

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Wicked King : The Folk of the Air Book 2 - Holly Black
The Wrath and the Dawn : The Wrath and the Dawn : Book 1 - Renee Ahdieh
From Blood and Ash : Blood and Ash: Book 1 - Jennifer L. Armentrout
The Worst Best Man : A Novel - Mia Sosa

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
To Kill a Kingdom - Alexandra Christo

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Jasmine Throne : Burning Kingdoms: Book 1 - Tasha Suri

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Hating Game - Sally Thorne

RRP $19.99

$18.25

BookTok Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

The Cousins : TikTok made me buy it - Karen M McManus

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Ugly Love : A Novel - Colleen Hoover

RRP $22.99

$18.90

18%
OFF
It Ends With Us : The emotional #1 Sunday Times bestseller - Colleen Hoover
Shatter Me : Shatter Me : Book 1 - Tahereh Mafi

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Guest List - Lucy Foley

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
As Good as Dead : A Good Girl's Guide to Murder: Book 3 - Holly Jackson
It Happened One Summer : Tik Tok Made Me Buy It - Tessa Bailey

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Happy Place - Emily Henry

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.25

20%
OFF
Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
One Of Us Is Lying : TV series on Stan - Now streaming - Karen M McManus
Red, White & Royal Blue - Casey McQuiston

RRP $26.99

$22.95

15%
OFF
Gone Girl - Gillian Flynn

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
We Were Liars - E. Lockhart

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

They Both Die at the End : TikTok made me buy it! - Adam Silvera

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Love and Other Words - Christina Lauren

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Archer's Voice - Mia Sheridan

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF