+612 9045 4394
Thea Astley : Selected Poems - Cheryl Taylor (Editor)

Thea Astley

Selected Poems

Limited Stock Available

Published: 17th July 2017
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $24.95

Thea Astley won multiple prizes for her fiction, including four Miles Franklin Awards. However, her earliest ambition was to write poetry. It remained her private passion throughout her student days into adulthood.

This exciting volume brings together for the first time many poems that have never been seen or published. It traces Astley’s development as a writer as she evokes wartime Brisbane, her fascination with the natural landscape and her encounters with small-town life.

Thea Astley: Selected Poems provides admirers of Astley’s fiction with unprecedented insight into an Australian literary legend.

About the Author

Cheryl Taylor (Editor) lectured in literature at James Cook University in Townsville before retiring as an Associate Professor in 2006. Since 2008 she has been a casual lecturer in the School of Humanities at Griffith University. She has edited books and published articles on Middle English, Medieval Latin, and Australian literature, and in 2005-2012 oversaw the building of the AustLit subset, Writing the Tropical North. Research for the present selection of Thea Astley's poetry was carried out during her 2010 tenure as Fryer Library Fellow at The University of Queensland.

Australian writer Thea Astley (1925-2004) published seventeen novels and more than a dozen free-standing short stories. She studied arts at The University of Queensland and held a position as Fellow in Australian Literature at Macquarie University until 1980, when she retired to write full time. In 1989 she was granted an honorary doctorate of letters from The University of Queensland. Astley lived and wrote on the New South Wales south coast until her death in 2004. Astley won the Miles Franklin Award four times - in 1962 for The Well Dressed Explorer, in 1965 for The Slow Natives , in 1972 for The Acolyte and in 2000 for Drylands.

In 1989 she won the Patrick White Award. Other awards include the 1975 Age Book of the Year Award for A Kindness Cup, the 1980 Australian Literature Studies (ALS) Award for Hunting the Wild Pineapple, the 1986 ALS Gold Medal for Beachmasters, the 1988 Steele Rudd Award for It's Raining in Mango , the 1990 NSW Premier's Prize for Reaching Tin River, and the 1996 Age Book of the Year Award and the FAW Award for The Multiple Effects of Rainshadow.

ISBN: 9780702259791
ISBN-10: 0702259799
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 176
Published: 17th July 2017
Publisher: University of Queensland Press
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 13.0  x 1.2
Weight (kg): 0.17