+612 9045 4394
The Wonderful World of Oz : The Wizard of Oz, The Emerald City of Oz, Glinda of Oz - L. Frank Baum

The Wonderful World of Oz

The Wizard of Oz, The Emerald City of Oz, Glinda of Oz


Published: 30th September 1999
For Ages: 18+ years old
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $24.99

Booktopia Comments

Order this product, or any product from the Father's Day Gift Guide by August 23rd, and you could win a book pack worth $700 RRP! Terms and Conditions apply.

Product Description

Most people are familiar with the land of Oz by way of the classic 1939 film. But the film was based on only the first of fourteen books about Oz in which Baum developed his vision of a socialist paradise and which garnered an immense and loyal following.

Three of the novels are collected here. The Wizard of Oz (1900) introduces Dorothy, who arrives from Kansas and meets the Scarecrow, the Tin Woodman, the Cowardly Lion, and a host of other characters. The Emerald City of Oz (1910) finds Dorothy, Aunt Em, and Uncle Henry coming to Oz just as the wicked Nome King is plotting to conquer its people.

In Baum's final novel, Glinda of Oz (1920), Dorothy and Princess Ozma try to prevent a battle between the Skeezers and the Flatheads. Tapping into a deeply rooted desire in himself and his readers to live in a peaceful country in which relationships were based not on commodity exchange but on the sharing of talents and gifts, Baum's imaginative creation, like all great utopian literature, holds out the possibility for change.

Baum wrote 14 Oz books, three of which are gathered here in a new edition. The first, and best known, is of course The Wizard of Oz which introduces us to Dorothy, the Scarecrow, the Tin Woodman and the Cowardly Lion. The Emerald City of Oz finds Dorothy back in Oz with her Aunt Em and Uncle Henry, confronting the evil Nome King, while in Glinda of Oz Dorothy and Princess Ozma step in to thwart a war between the Skeezers and the Flatheads. These utopian tales continue to exert a fascination over children of all ages. (Kirkus UK)

Suggestions for Further Reading
A Note on the Texts and the Illustrators
The Wizard of Ozp. 1
The Emerald City of Ozp. 107
Glinda of Ozp. 253
Explanatory Notesp. 359
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.
L. Frank Baum

Lyman Frank Baum, born May 15 1856, was an American author of children's books, best known for writing The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. He wrote thirteen novel sequels, nine other fantasy novels, and a host of other works (55 novels in total, plus four "lost" novels, 83 short stories, over 200 poems, an unknown number of scripts, and many miscellaneous writings), and made numerous attempts to bring his works to the stage and screen.

His works anticipated such century-later commonplaces as television, augmented reality, laptop computers (The Master Key), wireless telephones (Tik-Tok of Oz), women in high risk, action-heavy occupations (Mary Louise in the Country), and the ubiquity of advertising on clothing (Aunt Jane's Nieces at Work).

On May 5, 1919, Baum suffered from a stroke. He died quietly the next day, nine days short of his 63rd birthday.His final Oz book, Glinda of Oz, was published on July 10, 1920, a year after his death. The Oz series was continued long after his death by other authors, notably Ruth Plumly Thompson, who wrote an additional nineteen Oz books.

Visit L. Frank Baum's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9780141180854
ISBN-10: 0141180854
Series: Penguin Twentieth Century Classics S.
Audience: General
For Ages: 18+ years old
For Grades: 4 - 6
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 432
Published: 30th September 1999
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 13.1  x 2.0
Weight (kg): 0.34
Edition Number: 1
Edition Type: Annotated