+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Witch at Wayside Cross : Jesperson and Lane : Jesperson and Lane : Book 2 - Lisa Tuttle

The Witch at Wayside Cross : Jesperson and Lane

Jesperson and Lane : Book 2

Paperback Published: 12th June 2018
ISBN: 9780857054555
Number Of Pages: 368

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 5 to 9 business days

Sequel to The Somnambulist and the Psychic Thief, this terribly witty Victorian series of adventures is perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Sally Lockheart and The Night Circus.

Should you find yourself in need of a discreet investigation into any sort of mystery, crime or puzzling circumstances, think of Jesperson and Lane . . .

Jesperson and Lane have just solved their first major case when a man bangs violently on their door - and almost immediately drops dead. The police rule death by natural causes, but the detectives are determined to find out what really happened . . .

Mr Manning was screaming about witches before his death.

The case takes them to Mr Manning's Norfolk home, a land of mysterious Shrieking Pits and ancient knowledge. Mr Manning was himself a member of the enigmatic School of Ancient British Wisdom, and not the first to suffer a similar fate. Local gossip suggests that he was secretly engaged to one of the three lovely sisters who reside at Wayside Cross - but which one? Are they really witches, as the gossips also claim?

And what does all this have to do with the mysterious Shrieking Pits and a mother desperate to find her missing baby?

Jesperson and Lane, at your service.

'[Lisa Tuttle] has a prize-winning knack of doing what a lot of fantasy writers can only dream of: making the impossible seem everyday, and writing legend in such a way that it seems like a very present and nerve-tingling possibility.'
Scots Magazine

'Lisa Tuttle has created a most engaging detective duo in Jasper Jesperson and Miss Lane ... an intriguing and thoroughly enjoyable mystery.'
Mark Douglas Home, author of The Sea Detective and The Woman Who Walked Into The Sea

'A wonderful mystical journey through the darkened rooms of Victorian seances and stagecraft - beautifully written and researched. I absolutely loved it.'
Alison Littlewood, author of A Cold Season

'Lisa Tuttle has been writing remarkable, chilling short stories and powerful, haunting novels for many years now, and doing it so easily and so well that one almost takes it, and her, for granted.'
Neil Gaiman

ISBN: 9780857054555
ISBN-10: 0857054554
Series: Jesperson and Lane
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 368
Published: 12th June 2018
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.8  x 2.4
Weight (kg): 0.26
Edition Number: 1

This product is categorised by