Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Way Back Home - Allan Stratton

The Way Back Home

By: Allan Stratton

Paperback | 4 May 2017

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Zoe Bird is going nowhere fast. She’s angry and lonely, and her only true friend is her granny, whose Alzheimer’s is worsening. When her parents put Granny in a home, Zoe decides now is the time to break free. She smuggles Granny out and together they hit the tracks on a cross-country trip to find Zoe’s long-lost uncle. But there will be some home truths along the way. . .

An emotional story about family, surviving school and being true to yourself for fans of The Art of Being Normal and Unbecoming.

About the Author

Allan Stratton is the internationally bestselling and awarded author of Chanda’s Secrets, which was made into the Cannes Festival hit Life, Above All. Awards include the Printz Honour Book, two Junior Library Guild selections (US), two Canadian Library Association Best Book Awards, inclusion on the inaugural Pearson Foundation/Writers' Trust Read-for-Your-School list, and a Times Book of the Week. His work has been published in fifteen countries.
Industry Reviews
"The Way Back Home is a heartfelt, riveting novel from a master of his craft" * Quill and Quire *
"I love this book - a riveting page-turner full of likeable, flawed, believable people. It's beautiful, heartbreaking, yet wonderfully funny. Stratton writes some of the wittiest dialogue in YA fiction today." -- Susin Nielsen
"The Way Back Home is raw, funny, brutal and profoundly humane. It broke my heart and then healed it again" -- Susan Juby
"Terrific. I read it in one big gulp. Does Stratton have an ear for dialogue or what? His splendid new novel involves a journey from a painful past into something like, well, utter grace. Like all of Stratton's work, this is a read that makes us recognise the pilgrimages we are all on, and cheer at the thought that they might, they really might, be successful." * Gary D Schmidt *
"An emotional story of survival, loss, family and memory... a thought-provoking book that is both shocking and funny in equal measure" * Carousel *
"The novel discusses many important topics such as bullying, mental health and the loss of a loved one. Zoe's experiences are certain to resonate with young teenagers, making it an honest and relatable read" * INIS *
"An absorbing and emotionally truthful story about the conflict between generations and the misunderstandings that can break families apart" * The School Librarian *
"By turns heartbreaking and hilarious, and always life-affirming, this will be adored by readers who enjoyed Jacqueline Wilson at a younger age." -- Joanne Owen * Lovereading4Kids *
"Thought-provoking, sad, touching and funny... this is a book which does not fear discussing sexuality and transgender issues and how, like age and illness, they can marginalise people." * Armadillo Magazine *
"Raw and moving, this is a powerful read about a very special friendship." * Inis Reading Guide *

More in Young Adult (YA) Fiction

Of Jade and Dragons : Fall of the Dragon - Amber Chen

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Liar's Test : The Silverleaf Chronicles - Ambelin Kwaymullina

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Protectors : Wylah the Koorie Warrior 3 - Jordan Gould

RRP $15.99

$15.25

All This Twisted Glory : This Woven Kingdom - Tahereh Mafi
Burning Crowns : Twin Crowns : Book 3 - Katherine Webber

RRP $19.99

$18.95

If Only I Had Told Her - Laura Nowlin

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Inkflower - Suzy Zail

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Princess of Souls - Alexandra Christo

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Murtagh : The World of Eragon - Christopher Paolini

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Destroy the Day : Defy the Night - Brigid Kemmerer

RRP $17.99

$17.25

Stuck Up & Stupid - Angourie Rice

RRP $22.99

$21.90

The Dog Runner - Bren MacDibble

RRP $17.99

$17.25

Deep Is the Fen - Lili Wilkinson

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Trash - Andy Mulligan

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$17.25

Looking For Alibrandi : Pink Popular Penguin - Melina Marchetta