+612 9045 4394
The Vanishing Shadow : Judy Bolton Mysteries (Hardcover) - Margaret Sutton

The Vanishing Shadow

Judy Bolton Mysteries (Hardcover)

By: Margaret Sutton, Pelagie Doane (Illustrator)

Hardcover Published: 1st May 1994
ISBN: 9781557092502
Number Of Pages: 224
For Ages: 9 - 12 years old

Share This Book:


RRP $49.95
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Judy is constantly pursued by a mysterious shadow. Her brother, a timid but lovable boy, turns out to be a real hero in this dramatic, fast moving story.

Industry Reviews

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Charles Dresner (781) 271-0055 chuckd@awb.com Applewood Books to Publish Entire Judy Bolton Mystery Series through American Web Books Website Bedford, MA (October 12, 2002) -- Girl sleuth Judy Bolton is coming back! Applewood Books President Phil Zuckerman announced today he has reached an agreement with the estate of Margaret Sutton to bring all 38 of the Judy Bolton Mystery Books back into print in facsimiles of the original editions through AmericanWebBooks.com. Sutton, who died last year at the age of 98, is the author of all the books, making it one of the very few children's book series written by a single author. "Applewood Books is delighted to be able to make these fabulous books available to a whole new generation of young readers," Zuckerman said, "as well as to their parents and grandparents who grew up with them. Collectors will be especially excited to see them with the original cover art and interior design." The Judy Bolton mysteries were launched with The Vanishing Shadow in 1932 by publisher Grosset and Dunlap and went on to become one of the most successful series ever in children's book publishing, selling 5,000,000 copies. The last book, The Secret of the Sand Castle, was released in 1967. Judy Bolton books have been highly praised for their realism, fine writing and careful plotting not usually found in children's series fiction. Sutton used actual contemporary events as the basis for her stories and allowed her characters to grow and wrestle with the social issues of the day. The settings are based on places where Sutton and her family lived in Pennsylvania's Potter County. Coudersport, where she grew up, became Farringdon, the setting for many of the books; Austin, PA, the scene of a great flood in 1911, became Roulsville in The Vanishing Shadow. These Judy Bolton books will only be available for purchase at AmericanWebBooks.com, a division of Applewood Books, Inc. AmericanWebBooks.com is a new way of keeping America's historic literary tradition alive by making it possible for people to bring back into print favorite books from childhood or other historic works just as they remember them. Visitors to AmericanWebBooks.com can suggest books for publication or become "partner publishers" with the company. --more-- Applewood Books (www.awb.com), publishers of facsimile editions of original Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew and Tom Swift books, specializes in books from America's living past. Founded in 1976 by Phil Zuckerman, Applewood publishes 25 to 30 new books a year and has over 500 books in its backlist. Imprints include Books of American Wisdom and Quote/Unquote. ### For more information, contact: Phil Zuckerman, President Applewood Books 128 The Great Road Bedford, MA 01730 (781) 271-0055 philz@awb.com -OR- Charles Dresner, Director of Sales & Marketing Applewood Books 128 The Great Road Bedford, MA 01730 (781) 271-0055 chuckd@awb.com--Chuck Dresner "Applewood Books "

ISBN: 9781557092502
ISBN-10: 1557092508
Series: Judy Bolton Mysteries (Hardcover)
Audience: Children
For Ages: 9 - 12 years old
For Grades: 4 - 7
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 224
Published: 1st May 1994
Publisher: APPLEWOOD
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 19.66 x 13.16  x 2.08
Weight (kg): 0.32
Edition Type: Facsimile