Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Vanishing Point - Andrea Hotere

The Vanishing Point

By: Andrea Hotere

Paperback | 4 October 2023

At a Glance

EOFY Sale

Paperback


RRP $34.99

$18.95

46%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
A dazzling and spellbinding debut about a mysterious painting, the secrets it keeps, and the two women connected across centuries by a quest to discover the truth – for readers of Geraldine Brooks, Tracy Chevalier and Maggie O'Farrell.

London, 1991: Alex Johns, an art intern at the Courtauld, believes a hidden secret lies within Diego Velázquez’s Las Meninas – one of the most written about paintings of all time.

Her mother died in mysterious circumstances while trying to uncover its secrets and Alex is troubled by memories of her own encounter as a child with the girl in the painting – the Infanta Margarita – who continues to haunt her. Alex must take up her mother’s work and find evidence to uncover the truths within the canvas.

Madrid, 1656: The Infanta Margarita senses that those around her believe the royal household is cursed.

She wonders why her father, the King, is a pale shadow of himself and why the Queen is distressed. What threatens the royal offspring? She struggles to fight for her own destiny as the forces around her seek to marry her off and send her from the home she loves.

A treacherous trail through the art world, the church and 17th century Spanish court via drawings, letters and cryptic notes has Alex trying to piece together what happened in King Philip’s court...

But with powerful players who will do anything to stop these truths coming to light, will Alex live to share them or is she, too, cursed?


In the tradition of Tracy Chevalier’s Girl With a Pearl Earring and A.S. Byatt’s Possession, Andrea Hotere’s The Vanishing Point slowly reveals the secrets in the painting that have been closely guarded for centuries.

About the Author

Andrea Hotere grew up in Otepoti, Dunedin, and lives in Tamaki Makaurau, Auckland, with her family. She studied history at the University of Otago, journalism at the University of Canterbury and has worked as a historical researcher, journalist, TV producer and author.
Industry Reviews
'This is an astonishing and beautiful novel that brings the art world into sharp relief, as well as a gutsy mysterious story of one woman's journey into the past. Simply a masterpiece in its own right.' – Fiona Kidman

‘Captivating, filled with the spellbinding power that artworks have through history. I haven’t read anything quite like this before. Scenes from The Vanishing Point have and will remain vividly in my mind.’ – Hannah Bent

More in Modern & Contemporary Fiction

Blue Sisters : Our June Book of the Month - Coco Mellors

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
Funny Story : The New 2024 novel from the author of Happy Place - Emily Henry
Caledonian Road - Andrew O'Hagan

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
My Favourite Mistake - Marian Keyes

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Untamed : The Official Artbook (Hardcover) - Mo Xiang Tong Xiu

RRP $95.00

$61.75

35%
OFF
Our Holiday - Louise Candlish

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Parade - Rachel Cusk

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Lies and Weddings - Kevin Kwan

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
I Hope This Finds You Well - Natalie Sue

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Little Clothes - Deborah Callaghan

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Call It What You Want : A Novel - Alissa DeRogatis

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Hurdy Gurdy - Jenny Ackland

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Love from Scratch - Amy Hutton

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Book of Elsewhere

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF

Popular Searches