+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Tangled Lands - Paolo Bacigalupi

Paperback Published: 16th January 2019
ISBN: 9781788544771
Number Of Pages: 304

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book

The city of Khaim is surrounded by a land crippled by the use of magic, and a tyrant intent on rebuilding an empire – unless the people find a way to resist.

From two award-winning SFF authors, a new fantasy novel about a land crippled by the use of magic. For fans of Ken Liu and Gene Wolfe. Khaim, the last city of a once-great empire, clings to life. This is a world poisoned by its addiction to magic. Every time a spell is cast, toxic bramble sprouts, bursting forth from tilled fields, thrusting up from between cobblestones. A bit of magic, and bramble follows until whole cities are consumed by tangling vines.

Armies hack and burn... yet in a world that can't give up magic's sweet succour, the bramble can't be stopped. When Jeoz the alchemist discovers a potent new weapon to wield against the bramble, his invention promises Khaim freedom from fear and starvation. But these are twisted times and the bramble is not the only corruption that blights the land.

About the Authors

Paolo Bacigalupi is the bestselling author of The Windup Girl. Tobias Buckell is the bestselling author of Halo: The Cole Protocol. Between them, they have either won or been nominated for the Locus, Hugo, Nebula, Compton Crook, and John W. Campbell awards.

Industry Reviews

"Pulses with the siren call of power, the throb of remorse and dreams of redemption."
Daily Mail

"Exploring themes of power, corruption, greed and thwarted hope, the authors deliver an absorbing and sensitive fantasy."
Guardian

"The two writers do a wonderful job of maintaining the same style, creating a coherent, rounded world peopled with imperfect, believable characters ... [it] is well worth the investment."
SFX, featured book

"The Tangled Lands has no right to be as good as it is. Conceptual, morally ambiguous, and incredibly timely, [it] explores well-wrought narratives of feminism and environmental justice in a beautifully crafted fantasy world that drips with rich lore and details at every turn."
The Oberlin Review

ISBN: 9781788544771
ISBN-10: 1788544773
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 304
Published: 16th January 2019
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 13.0  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.2

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by