+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues - Edward Kelsey Moore

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues

Paperback Published: 1st March 2018
ISBN: 9781473661998
Number Of Pages: 320

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 15 business days

Earn 42 Qantas Points
on this Book

A novel of friendship, family and forgiveness, from the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat, perfect for fans of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul.When a late life love affair blooms between Mr. Forrest Payne, the owner of the Pink Slipper Gentleman's Club, and Miss Beatrice Jordan, famous for yelling warnings of eternal damnation at the Club's departing patrons, their wedding summons a legend to town. Mr El Walker, the great guitar bluesman, comes home to give a command performance in Plainview, Indiana, a place he'd sworn never to set foot in again.Among those in this tightly knit community who show up every Sunday after church for lunch at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat are the lifelong friends known locally as The Supremes: Clarice, facing down her chance at and fear of a great career; Barbara Jean, grappling with the loss of a mother whose life humiliated both of them, and Odette, reaching toward her husband through an anger of his that she does not understand.The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues brings together a lively cast of characters in a heartwarming, life-affirming tale of small-town community and female friendship.'A joy to read! Besides being laugh out loud hilarious, Edward Kelsey Moore has a profound understanding of human nature' Fannie Flagg, author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe

Industry Reviews

There is no clue in the deliberately obscure title as to just how good this book is . . . An excellent and unpreachy chance to learn how the [civil rights] movement affected ordinary women. - Daily Mail on THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT

Throughout the Supremes' intertwined stories is one constant - meeting and eating at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat, a place where relationships are forged, scandals are aired and copious amounts of chicken are consumed . . . A novel of strong women, evocative memories and deep friendship. - Kirkus on THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT

This beautifully written debut novel is a delightful tribute to friendship, full of wit and warmth and with a quirky twist - Candis on THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT

ISBN: 9781473661998
ISBN-10: 1473661994
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 320
Published: 1st March 2018
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.8  x 2.6
Weight (kg): 0.22
Edition Number: 1

Earn 42 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by