+612 9045 4394
The Summer Queen : Eleanor of Aquitaine trilogy - Elizabeth Chadwick

The Summer Queen

Eleanor of Aquitaine trilogy


Published: 8th July 2014
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $22.99

eBook View Product

Published: 20th June 2013
Format: ePUB

The epic first novel in a magnificent trilogy unveiling the fascinating and misunderstood young queen, Eleanor of Aquitaine - history's most powerful woman

Eleanor of Aquitaine's story is legendary. She is an icon who has fascinated readers for over eight hundred years. But the real Eleanor remains elusive - until now. Based on the most up-to-date research, bestselling novelist Elizabeth Chadwick brings Eleanor's magnificent story to life, as never before.

Young, vibrant, privileged, Eleanor's future is golden as the heiress to wealthy Aquitaine. But when her beloved father dies suddenly in the summer of 1137, her childhood ends abruptly. Forced to marry the young prince Louis of France, Eleanor is still struggling to adjust to her new role when Louis' father dies and they become King and Queen of France. Leaving everything behind, the vivacious Eleanor must face the complex and faction-riddled French court. She is only 13.

Overflowing with scandal, politics, sex, triumphs and tragedies, The Summer Queen is the first novel in a stunning new trilogy, from award-winning and much-loved author Elizabeth Chadwick

About the Author

New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick has written over 20 historical novels sold in 18 languages worldwide. Her first novel, The Wild Hunt, won a Betty Trask Award, and The Scarlet Lion was nominated by Richard Lee, founder of the Historical Novel Society, as one of the top ten historical novels of the last decade. Elizabeth's nineteenth novel, To Defy a King, won the RNA Historical Novel Prize in 2011. The Summer Queen, the first novel in her stunning Eleanor of Aquitaine trilogy, will be followed by The Winter Crown and The Autumn Throne.


Excellent writer and engaging story


Elizabeth Chadwick writes beautifully, engaging storyline around historical and factual places and events. Have already ordered the sequel.

Geraldton AU


The Summer Queen

5.0 1


Meticulous research and strong storytelling. The first in a trilogy about the passions and scandals in the 12th-century French court - Woman & Home

You are in for a sumptuous ride - Daily Telegraph

Uses authentic period detail to bring to life a new queen and the drama and intrigue surrounding her - France magazine

Enjoyable and sensuous - Daily Mail

Leaves the reader longing for part two - Good Book Guide

ISBN: 9780751548303
ISBN-10: 0751548308
Series: Eleanor of Aquitaine trilogy
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 496
Published: 8th July 2014
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 20.0 x 13.7  x 3.3
Weight (kg): 0.34
Edition Number: 1