The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter : Extraordinary Adventures of the Athena Club - Theodora Goss

The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter

By: Theodora Goss

Hardcover | 20 June 2017

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Based on some of literature&;s horror and science fiction classics, this is the story of a remarkable group of women who come together to solve the mystery of a series of gruesome murders&;and the bigger mystery of their own origins.

Mary Jekyll, alone and penniless following her parents&; death, is curious about the secrets of her father&;s mysterious past. One clue in particular hints that Edward Hyde, her father&;s former friend and a murderer, may be nearby, and there is a reward for information leading to his capture&;a reward that would solve all of her immediate financial woes.

But her hunt leads her to Hyde&;s daughter, Diana, a feral child left to be raised by nuns. With the assistance of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, Mary continues her search for the elusive Hyde, and soon befriends more women, all of whom have been created through terrifying experimentation: Beatrice Rappaccini, Catherin Moreau, and Justine Frankenstein.

When their investigations lead them to the discovery of a secret society of immoral and power-crazed scientists, the horrors of their past return. Now it is up to the monsters to finally triumph over the monstrous.
Industry Reviews
"Theodora Goss is a wonder. Her elegance, wit and powerful voice pull no punches. A brilliant, deeply felt, and nimble book."--Catherynne M. Valente, Hugo-Award winning author "An enormously accomplished delight of a book...a brilliant novel."--Liz Bourke "Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victor Frankenstein: until now, you've only heard half the story. Goss' deft, poetic interweaving of edge-of-the-seat adventure with the artful voices of her characters creates a matryoshka doll of hidden Gothic fiction in the best sense. The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter proves the point that behind every evil genius you'll find a team of fantastic women working to set things right. As if Charlie's Angels, as written by Mary Shelley, took over the Bluestocking Society, with bonus well-mannered explosions. An utterly delightful, transformative read."--Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon "Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book."--Kat Howard, author of ROSES AND ROT

Other Editions and Formats

Paperback

Published: 27th February 2018

In Stock and Aims to ship next day

More in Fantasy Fiction

House of Flame and Shadow : Crescent City: Book 3 - Sarah J. Maas

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
Psykhe - Kate Forsyth

SIGNED COPY

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
The North Wind : The Four Winds - Alexandria Warwick

RRP $32.99

$19.95

40%
OFF
You Like It Darker : Twelve Dark New Stories - Stephen King

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
When The Moon Hatched : The first in a major new series - Sarah A. Parker
Witch King - Martha Wells

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Starling House : Reese Witherspoon's Book Club October Pick - Alix E. Harrow
Fire and Blood : The Inspiration for HBO's House of the Dragon - George R R Martin
A Stroke of the Pen : The Lost Stories - Terry Pratchett

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Fragile Threads of Power : The Threads of Power - V.E. Schwab
The Atlas Paradox : The Atlas : Book 2 - Olivie Blake

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Branded - Jo Riccioni

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Master of Furies : The Firemane Saga: Book 3 - Raymond E Feist

EOFY Sale

RRP $39.99

$19.35

52%
OFF
Bespelled : The Bewitched Series - Laura Thalassa

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Hera : Bow down to the Queen of Mount Olympus - Jennifer Saint

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Tress of the Emerald Sea : A Cosmere Novel - Brandon Sanderson

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Mime Order : Author's Preferred Text - Samantha Shannon

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Song Rising : Author's Preferred Text - Samantha Shannon

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Dragon Rider - Taran Matharu

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.35

19%
OFF
One Piece : Shokugeki no Sanji - Eiichiro Oda

RRP $17.99

$16.75