+612 9045 4394
The Story Orchestra : Four Seasons in One Day - Jessica Courtney-Tickle

The Story Orchestra

Four Seasons in One Day

By: Jessica Courtney-Tickle (Illustrator)

Hardcover Published: 1st October 2016
ISBN: 9781847808776
Number Of Pages: 24
For Ages: 6 - 9 years old

Share This Book:


RRP $27.99
Ships in 5 to 9 business days

Discover what it would be like to travel through the four seasons in one day, following a little girl called Isabelle and her dog, Pickle, as they take on the adventure of a lifetime. As a sign of the changing seasons, Isabelle carries a little apple tree with her, and we see it bud, blossom and lose its leaves. Accompanied by pieces from Vivaldi's Four Seasons, this is the first title in a series of sound books that bring classical music to life for young children.

About the Author

Jessica Courtney-Tickle is an illustrator who graduated from Kingston University in July 2014. Her absolute favourite thing to draw or paint is nature, finding a focus on foliage of any kind as well as children's stories about adventure and exploration. She also has a penchant for drawing theatre from music makers to dancers and even singing animals. Jessica is most influenced by vintage picture books, travel posters and folk art as well as numerous painters and printmakers.


Beautiful book


The book loosely conceptualises Vivaldi's music. The story jumps a bit and lacks continuity but it is adored by young children. The music is gorgeous and the illustrations are beautiful.



A delightful book, My granddaughter LOVES this


It is a lovely book to share with children and they love to feel how the music describes the seasons



Wonderful book


I bought this for my grandsons and we haven't got to actually reading it yet. It is the book first chosen and is favourite. They both respond with joy to the Four Seasons by Vivaldi.

Melbourne. Australia


Lovely illustrations and music


Lovely book to introduce young kids to classical music. The music excerpts are a bit short but good introduction and engaging. Nice illustrations.



Love it!


The Story Orchestra is a wonderful way to expose young children or primary students to important classical music woven into an interesting storyline. The delightful pictures and text work alongside the chosen parts of 'The Four Seasons', with a small part of each season's 'movement' playing by pressing a note on each page. This helps children capture the sensation/taste/vision and idea of the music and season on each page. My 15mth old loves it already, but I would use it in my classroom too.

NSW, Australia


I have bought 3 copies for presents.


I have given this book as a gift to three different children from 2-6 year olds. All of them absolutely love it and all of them, even the 2 year old understand quickly that music can tell a story. They all listen and relisten and get excited about the music. This book will never disappoint.

Sydney, Australia


The Story Orchestra

5.0 6


"...a sprightly introduction to program music and also to one of its greatest exemplars." Kirkus Reviews

ISBN: 9781847808776
ISBN-10: 1847808778
Series: Story Orchestra
Audience: Children
For Ages: 6 - 9 years old
For Grades: 1 - 4
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 24
Published: 1st October 2016
Publisher: Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 26.5 x 30.4  x 0.8
Weight (kg): 0.39