+612 9045 4394
The Starkin Crown : The Chronicles of Estelliana : Book 3 - Kate Forsyth

The Starkin Crown

The Chronicles of Estelliana : Book 3

Paperback Published: 1st May 2011
ISBN: 9780330404044
Number Of Pages: 384
For Ages: 12 - 17 years old

Other Formats

Share This Book:


Ships in 5 to 9 business days

Last, the smallest and the greatest...
Though he must be lost before he can find,
Though, before he sees, he must be blind,
If he can find and if he can see,
The true king of all he shall be.

Prince Peregrine, rightful heir to the starkin and wildkin crowns, longs for adventure. But Vernisha the Vile, who seized the starkin throne, seeks to destroy Peregrine, his family, and all the wildkin of Ziva.

With Stormfell Castle under attack, Peregrine flees with his best friend, Jack, and Lady Grizelda – a starkin girl who is working against Vernisha. Together they seek the Spear of the Storm King – the long-lost weapon which, it is prophesied, will destroy the starkin throne. But danger is never far behind, as a hunter is on their tail and someone close doesn't want them to succeed...

The Starkin Crown is the thrilling conclusion to the The Starthorn Tree and The Wildkin's Curse.

About The Author

Kate Forsyth is the internationally bestselling author of more than twenty books for children and adults, including The Puzzle Ring, The Gypsy Crown, The Starthorn Tree, The Wildkin's Curse and Dragon Gold. Since her first published book was named Best First Novel of 1998 by Locus magazine, Kate has been shortlisted for numerous awards, including a Cybils Award in the US. In 2007, Kate became the first author to win five Aurealis awards in a single year when Books 2-6 in the Chain of Charms series were jointly awarded the 2007 Aurealis Award for Children's Fiction. Book 5, The Lightning Bolt, was also named a Notable Book for 2007 by the Children's Book Council of Australia.

Chronicles of Estelliana

A series of three novels for readers aged 12+, set in a faraway land of magic and monsters, valiant heroes and wicked villains. Each book tells the story of a new generation of heroes who must each fight their own battle before peace can at last come to the embattled land of Estelliana.

I have always loved books filled with adventure, magic, romance, and humour, stories set long, long ago and far, far away. When I set out to write the 'Chronicles of Estelliana', I wanted to recapture the feel of the books I had loved so much as a child, books like The Princess Bride, The Silver Curlew, The Hobbit and The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.

Each novel can be read by itself, though I'd recommend you read them all in order.

ISBN: 9780330404044
ISBN-10: 0330404040
Audience: Children
For Ages: 12 - 17 years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 1st May 2011
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.5 x 12.4  x 1.8
Weight (kg): 0.2
Edition Number: 1

Kate Forsyth

About the Author

Kate Forsyth is the bestselling and award-winning author of more than twenty books, ranging from picture books to poetry to novels for both children and adults.

Her most recent book for adults is The Beast’s Garden, a retelling of Grimms’ Beauty and The Beast set in Nazi Germany. She has also written Bitter Greens, a retelling of the Rapunzel fairytale interwoven with the dramatic, true life story of the woman who first told the tale, the 17th century French writer, Charlotte-Rose de la Force. Her most recent book for children is The Starkin Crown, a heroic fantasy adventure set in the magical world of Estelliana, a place of wild magic and terrifying monsters.

Since The Witches of Eileanan was named a Best First Novel of 1998 by Locus Magazine, Kate has won or been nominated for numerous awards, including a CYBIL Award in the US. She's also the only author to win five Aurealis awards in a single year, for her Chain of Charms series – beginning with The Gypsy Crown - which tells of the adventures of two Romany children in the time of the English Civil War. Book 5 of the series, The Lightning Bolt, was also a CBCA Notable Book.

Kate's books have been published in 17 countries around the world, including the UK, the US, Russia, Germany, Japan, Turkey, Spain, Italy, Poland and Slovenia. She completed a doctorate in fairytale retellings at the University of Technology, as well as a BA in Literature and a MA in Creative Writing.

Kate is a direct descendant of Charlotte Waring, the author of the first book for children ever published in Australia, A Mother's Offering to her Children. She lives by the sea in Sydney, Australia, with her husband, three children, a rambunctious Rhodesian Ridgeback, a bad-tempered black cat, and many thousands of books.

Visit Kate Forsyth's Booktopia Author Page

Read More