+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Secrets We Keep - Shirley Patton

Paperback

Published: 19th March 2018
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $29.99
$22.75
24%
OFF
if ordered within

eBook View Product

Published: 1st April 2018
Format: ePUB
$9.99

For readers of Judy Nunn's Spirits of the Ghan… When a newcomer blows into the mining town of Kalgoorlie she unwittingly uncovers a web of lies and a heartbreaking tie with her tumultuous past in this compelling family saga where the personal and political collide.

A mother's secret, a father's betrayal, a town on the edge…

When social worker Aimee arrives in the mining town of Kalgoorlie, she is ready for a fresh start. Her colleagues Lori and Paddy seem friendly, and she is also drawn to one of her cases: the Steele family, whose future looks particularly bleak. But Aimee has a dark secret and as the past reaches out towards her once more, she realises that somehow her secret is connected to this unfamiliar but harshly beautiful town and its inhabitants.

As she strengthens her ties with the local community – especially with the vibrant Lori, stoical Kerry and wise Agnes – she finds herself questioning earlier decisions. Can she reveal her secret, even if it is not hers alone to share?

A compelling novel of the transcendental love of children and the truth's unwillingness to stay hidden.

About the Author

Shirley Patton grew up in outback Western Australia and now lives with her partner and a miniature schnauzer, in wine-growing country overlooking the beautiful Tamar River, Northern Tasmania. She left an academic career as a published researcher of family violence and a lecturer to write fiction full time. Since then, she has published several short stories in a variety of literary publications. Prior to practising social work, Shirley worked in the media as a television newsreader and television chat show host. Like one of the characters in The Secrets We Keep, Shirley's Irish great grandmother read tea leaves.

WRITE A REVIEW

Page Turner

5

I was hooked from the beginning. 'The Secrets We Keep' is an amazing story of resilience, as the reader follows the story of Aimee, Lori, Kerry and Aggie, four women who've faced tragedy in their life, and most of whom carry one secret or another. There was so much to love in this novel. I loved the character of Aggie, the tea-leaf reader, and the exploration of a more spiritual side of life, I was interested to read about Australia's Indigenous people, and the issues they faced in the 1980's in Kalgoorlie, Australia, (probably not much different to elsewhere – I assume) and I loved the reference to different types of relationships, such as the platonic friendship of Aggie and Jack, neighbours, both widowed, who've spent the best part of their lives together, taking care of each other, still living in separate houses, and yet as close as a married couple might be, without the intimacy. I reached the end convinced there was only one possible choice left for Aimee, the one character whose secret isn't dealt with earlier in the book, and was ever so glad when she made that choice. Highly recommended!

Tasmania

true

The Secrets We Keep

5.0 1

100.0

ISBN: 9781489246783
ISBN-10: 1489246789
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 336
Published: 19th March 2018
Publisher: Harlequin
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.5  x 2.7
Weight (kg): 0.41