+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Secret Life of the Mind : How Our Brain Thinks, Feels and Decides - Mariano Sigman

The Secret Life of the Mind

How Our Brain Thinks, Feels and Decides

Paperback

Published: 19th June 2017
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $32.99
$24.75
25%
OFF

Booktopia Comments

Order this title, or any other from our Christmas Gift Guide by December 13th, and you could win a $1000 book pack! Terms and Conditions apply.

Product Description

In the last twenty years, Mariano Sigman has journeyed to the core of the brain, an organ formed by nearly an infinity of neurons that manufacture how we perceive, reason, feel, dream, and communicate.After more than two decades of research, he has zoomed out from a thorough excursion to the neurons to seeing the brain from afar, where thoughts begin to take shape.

And at this point where psychology meets neuroscience, ‘The Secret Life of the Mind’ combines the astonishing work of biologists, physicists, mathematicians, psychologists, anthropologists, linguists, engineers, philosophers and medical doctors – not to forget cooks, magicians, musicians, chess players, writers, and artists. It is an astonishing synthesis of a life’s expertise on the edge of science, for readers of ‘Thinking, Fast and Slow’.

Looking into how we forge ideas in our first days of life; how we shape the decisions that define us; why we dream; how years and years of formal and informal education change our brains, this book explores how we begin to understand even the smallest things that make up who and what we are.

About the Author

Mariano Sigman, a physicist by training, is an international leading figure in the cognitive neuroscience of learning and decision making. He is the founder of the Integrative Neuroscience Laboratory at the University of Buenos Aires. Sigman is the only Latin American scientist to be a director of the Human Brain Project, was awarded a Human Frontiers Career Development Award, the National Prize of Physics, the Young Investigator Prize of "College de France," the IBM Scalable Data Analytics Award, and is a scholar of the James S. McDonnell Foundation.

In 2016 he was made a Laureate of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences.

`Sigman finds the sweet spot between findings and experimental detail, and it makes for a compelling read. Entertaining... with moments of exhileration'Financial Times `Mariano Sigman writes and thinks in a uniquely provocative way. He is a gifted cognitive neuroscientist, and we are lucky to have him excavating the secret life of the mind. He makes learning about the mind and brain easy and almost automatic. He is the Richard Feynman of the brain'Andrew Meltzoff, Professor of Psychology, the University of Washington; co-author of `The Scientist in the Crib `The author takes us on grand tour covering an extraordinarily diverse range of topics that are of interest to readers and specialists alike' VS Ramachandran FRCP, author of The Tell-Tale Brain `The brain is the star of this book, with chapters focussing on its characteristics throughout childhood and youth, identity, decision-making, consciousness, education and its capacity to transform itself. In exploring the psychological element of neuroscience, Mariano Sigman tells the story of the human mind as a journey through some of the least travelled paths of mankind ... A wonderful read' La Nacion `The idea of the mind as a tabula rasa is only one of many erroneous notions that Sigman's brilliant book helps to correct' El Mundo `What differentiates The Secret Life of the Mind from other books about the mind is that it takes on neuroscience from a psychological point of view, as well as taking into account psychoanalysis, behavioural economics and philosophy' Nosotras `Sigman confirms that although we are capable of detecting and manipulating consciousness, science is still not able to physically break it down. The idea of the mind as a tabula rasa is only one of many erroneous notions that Sigman's brilliant book helps to correct' El Cultural, El Mundo

ISBN: 9780008225568
ISBN-10: 0008225567
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 320
Published: 19th June 2017
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 2.0
Weight (kg): 0.36