+612 9045 4394
The Second String Quartet in F-Sharp Minor : Opus 10 (Norton Critical Scores) - Arnold Schoenberg

The Second String Quartet in F-Sharp Minor

Opus 10 (Norton Critical Scores)


Published: 31st October 2005
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

For nearly a century, it has inspired composers, scholars, critics, performers, and visual artists.  Severine Neff re-creates for her readers the quartet's historical, cultural, and musical background-its introduction of the human voice, its genesis during a personal crisis in the composer's life, the scandal at its premiere, and its endlessly controversial reception, both critical and analytic.  This volume includes a newly edited, authoritative score of the quartet, as well as previously unavailable and newly translated texts by Grant Chorley.

"Indispensable for understanding one of the central compositions of the twentieth century."-Walter Frisch, Columbia University.

The score of the second string quartet in F-sharp minor, OP. 10
Movement Ip. 3
Movement IIp. 20
Movement III. Litaneip. 48
Movement IV. Entruckungp. 64
Background and analysis
Historical contextsp. 106
A personal crisisp. 107
Two premieres : unheard and heardp. 113
The background of the riotp. 117
Visual responses to the quartetp. 120
Presenting the quartet's "idea"p. 125
An untamed sonata formp. 128
A stop-and-go movementp. 141
Adding a voicep. 154
"Ascent to a breakthrough"p. 166
Commentary by the composer, his students, and contemporaries
History and reception (1907-10)p. 188
Letter from Arnold Schoenberg to Arnold Rosep. 188
Draft for a last will and testamentp. 189
Reviews of the premiere : Hans Liebstockl/Paul Stauber, Richard Specht, and Elsa Bienenfeldp. 193
Feuilleton : David Josef Bachp. 200
Colloquy about the premiere : Andro (Therese Rie), Marsop, Batka, Scherber, Karpath, Korngoldp. 205
Schoenberg's thank-you note to the Rose Quartetp. 214
Schoenberg responds to his critics : "a legal question" (with Liebstockl's review), "an artistic impression," "on music criticism"p. 215
Schoenberg's first published interview : "Schoenberg at home"p. 232
Correspondence with Karl Krausp. 237
Schoenberg's open letter in Die Fackelp. 242
A review of the "second premiere"p. 244
Another thank-you note to Arnold Rosep. 245
Letter from Gustav Mahlerp. 246
A review of the concert and exhibit at Heller's bookstorep. 247
Analysis and criticism (1909-51)p. 250
"Analysis of Schoenberg's second quartet"p. 250
Excerpts from "Arnold Schonberg"p. 268
Excerpt from "Schoenberg's music"p. 271
"The art of Arnold Schoenberg : a preliminary study"p. 273
Excerpts from "Arnold Schoenberg's Modus Operandi"p. 277
"Schoenberg's tonality"p. 286
Excerpt from "a study of Schoenberg's string quartets, II"p. 288
Schoenberg on the second quartetp. 293
Fifty-five documented performancesp. 309
"Misfortune in love"p. 314
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780393978025
ISBN-10: 0393978028
Series: Norton Critical Scores
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 31st October 2005
Publisher: WW Norton & Co
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.1 x 15.7  x 1.8
Weight (kg): 0.46
Edition Number: 1