+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Scold's Bridle - Minette Walters

Paperback Published: 1st March 2012
ISBN: 9781447208099
Number Of Pages: 480

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $26.99
$23.25
14%
OFF
Ships in 15 business days

Earn 47 Qantas Points
on this Book

Winner of the CWA Gold Dagger Award for Best Crime Novel of the Year

I wonder if I should keep these diaries under lock and key. Jenny Spede has disturbed them again . . . What does she make, I wonder, of an old woman, deformed by arthritis, stripping naked for a young man? The pills worry me more. Ten is such a round number to be missing . . .

Mathilda Gillespie's body was found nearly two days after she had taken an overdose and slashed her wrists with a Stanley knife. But what shocked Dr Sarah Blakeney the most was the scold's bridle obscuring the dead woman’s face, a metal contraption grotesquely adorned with a garland of nettles and Michaelmas daisies. What happened at Cedar House in the tortured hours before Mathilda's death?

The police assume that the coroner will return a verdict of suicide. Only Dr Blakeney, it seems, doubts the verdict. Until it is discovered that Mathilda’s diaries have disappeared . . .

Industry Reviews

"Minette Walters knows the cruel kinkiness that can lurk behind the most sedate of facades."
Los Angeles Times

"Thoroughly chilling . . . gripping . . . disturbing."
Orlando Sentinel

"Walters fearlessly flirts with gothic menace and intricacy as she draws all the loose threads together in this full-bodied plot."
The Washington Post

"A wonderful, thought-provoking mystery by a brilliant new British writer."
The San Diego Union-Tribune

"Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell will respond to Minette Walters's deft touch and psychological suspense and appreciate her ability to depict complex and sympathetic women characters."
Minneapolis Star-Tribune

ISBN: 9781447208099
ISBN-10: 1447208099
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 480
Published: 1st March 2012
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 13.0  x 3.0
Weight (kg): 0.332

Earn 47 Qantas Points
on this Book

Minette Walters

About the Author


Minette Walters is England's best-selling female crime writer. She has won the CWA John Creasey Award for best first crime novel, the Edgar Allan Poe Award for best crime novel published in America and two CWA Gold Daggers for Fiction.

Visit Minette Walters's Booktopia Author Page


This product is categorised by