Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Sandalwood Tree - Elle Newmark

The Sandalwood Tree

By: Elle Newmark

Paperback | 17 February 2011

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Spanning two centuries and set against an exotic backdrop, this is an all-consuming story in the vein of The Island and East of the Sun

It is 1947, and Evie and Martin Mitchell have just arrived in the Indian village of Masoorla with their five-year-old son. But cracks soon appear in their marriage as Evie struggles to adapt to her new life, and Martin fails to bury unbearable wartime memories.

When Evie finds a collection of letters, concealed deep in the brickwork of their rented bungalow, so begins an investigation that consumes her, allowing her to escape to another world, a hundred years earlier, and to the extraordinary friendship of two very different young women.

And as Evie’s fascination with her Victorian discoveries deepens, she unearths powerful secrets. But at what cost to her present, already fragile existence?

About the Author

Elle Newmark lives in the hills north of San Diego, California. Her father, the chef who inspired her book, lives next door. He’s 90, and still cooking. This is her first novel and she is now planning a sequel or prequel.
Industry Reviews
"A very promising new author" New Books Magazine

More in Historical Fiction

The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Imperial Harvest - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Tattooist of Auschwitz - Heather Morris

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Hidden Storyteller : A Novel - Mandy Robotham

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Wild Date Palm - Diane Armstrong

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Sweet Blue Distance - Sara Donati

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Mary I : Queen of Sorrows - Alison Weir

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Until August : The Lost Novel - Gabriel Garcia Márquez

RRP $35.00

$31.75

The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Vanishing Point - Andrea Hotere

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Maya's Dance - Helen Signy

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Sea Captain's Wife - Jackie French

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Bass Rock : Winner of the 2021 Stella Prize - Evie Wyld
Deception Bay : Book No.2 - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
Bone Rites - Natalie Bayley

FREE SHIPPING

Paperback

RRP $21.99

$20.90

The Escapades of Tribulation Johnson - Karen Brooks

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Atlas: The Story of Pa Salt : The Seven Sisters: Book 8 - Harry Whittaker
Pemulwuy : The Rainbow Warrior - Eric Willmot

RRP $34.99

$27.95

20%
OFF