Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Rise of the Remarkables: Brasswitch and Bot : The Rise of the Remarkables - Gareth Ward

The Rise of the Remarkables: Brasswitch and Bot

By: Gareth Ward

Paperback | 1 August 2020

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Drawn into a world of prejudice, deceit and danger, Wrench must master her powers, knowing they offer her only hope for survival . . . if they don’t destroy the world first.

Screams surge along York’s narrow Victorian streets as a runaway crackle-tram races toward disaster. Fearing an accident like the one that killed her parents, Brasswitch Wrench is forced to reveal her powers – a decision that will change her life forever. Recruited to the sinister department of Regulators who hunt down others like her, Wrench teams up with their maverick mechanical leader, Bot, as they are tasked with halting the rise of the aberration threat. Until today, being called Brasswitch would have got you killed. Now, it might save your life.

Book Features:
  • The next high-stakes, action-packed series from the author of The Traitor and the Thief, winner of the 2016 Storylines Tessa Duder Award, the 2018 Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Youth Novel and Best New Talent.
  • A fantastic steampunk adventure story for readers 10+, perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan series and Philip Reeve's Mortal Engines series.


About the Author

Gareth Ward, (aka. The Great Wardini) is a magician, hypnotist, storyteller and bookseller. He has worked as a Royal Marine Commando, Police Officer, Evil Magician and Zombie. He basically likes jobs where you get to wear really cool hats. Born near Oxford in the UK, he went to University in York and currently lives in Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand where he runs two independent bookshops with his wife Louise. His first novel, The Traitor and the Thief, a rip-roaring young adult Steampunk adventure, won the 2016 Storylines Tessa Duder Award, the 2018 Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Youth Novel, a 2018 Storylines Notable Book Award and was a finalist in two categories at The New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults.

His sequel, The Clockill and the Thief is also jolly good.
Industry Reviews
Praise for The Traitor and the Thief from Books+Publishing:

"Should delight readers at the younger end of the YA spectrum who enjoy quirky world building and stories that are more adventure and mystery than coming-of-age and romance (although there are hints of both). 4/5 stars.”

More in Young Adult (YA) Fiction

Of Jade and Dragons : Fall of the Dragon - Amber Chen

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Protectors : Wylah the Koorie Warrior 3 - Jordan Gould

RRP $15.99

$15.25

Liar's Test : The Silverleaf Chronicles - Ambelin Kwaymullina

RRP $24.99

$23.75

The Dog Runner - Bren MacDibble

RRP $17.99

$17.25

Princess of Souls - Alexandra Christo

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Destroy the Day : Defy the Night - Brigid Kemmerer

RRP $17.99

$17.25

Stuck Up & Stupid - Angourie Rice

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Murtagh : The World of Eragon - Christopher Paolini

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Inkflower - Suzy Zail

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$21.90

If Only I Had Told Her - Laura Nowlin

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Burning Crowns : Twin Crowns : Book 3 - Katherine Webber

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Deep Is the Fen - Lili Wilkinson

RRP $24.99

$23.75

All This Twisted Glory : This Woven Kingdom - Tahereh Mafi
Trash - Andy Mulligan

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$17.25

The Simple Gift : Uqp Young Adult Fiction - Steven Herrick